And the great job hunt continues…

November 26, 2011 at 1:18 am (Job hunting, Personal)

So, I was laid off in June of 2009, worked a contract position from June 2010 to February 2011, and here I am again, looking for work.  Thank goodness for unemployment, and a husband with a really good job, or we’d be in serious trouble!  I think I’m way too old fashioned, I honestly believe that my work history and my work ETHIC should be enough to get me gainful employment, especially considering the class of employee I see around me here in Florida.  I don’t think I should HAVE to have a degree in something, especially something completely unrelated to any job I’ve ever had, and I certainly don’t need that extra debt!  I’ve worked for 30 years now, and that should say something about who and what I am.  But it seems that in the job market today, you HAVE to have that piece of paper, and you have to be willing to pimp yourself to anyone and everyone who MIGHT have some slight influence over whether or not you get a job.  And I’m just too old fashioned for that I think…

Leave a Reply

