The Great 2012 Cooking Extravaganza! Day 7

January 8, 2012 at 11:32 pm (Food) (, , , , , , , , , , )

1/8/12

Hello friends, and welcome back!!

Yesterday’s “big sandwich” was a hit, of course, and there are still a few sections leftover for a lunch for someone.  It was cool letting everyone put their own dressings on their piece, so everyone got what they wanted.

On the menu tonight, mini meatloaves, twice baked potatoes, and a nice fresh salad.  Gotta go make some fresh ranch dressing or William won’t eat the salad, but that’s quick!

Here are the recipes for tonight, William picked them out!

Mini meatloaves

1 cup ketchup

4 tbsp packed brown sugar

1 tsp ground mustard

2 eggs, beaten

4 tsp Worchestershire sauce

3 cups bread crumbs, cracker crumbs, corn flake crumbs (basically whatever type of filler you like)

3 tsp onion powder or flakes

Salt and pepper to taste

1/2 tsp garlic powder

3 pounds lean ground beef, or mixed beef and sausage (mix 2:1 beef and sausage)

In large bowl, combine ketchup, brown sugar and mustard. Remove 1/2 cup to be used on top of cooked loaves. Add eggs, Worchestershire, cereal/bread crumbs, seasonings.  Mix well, let set for 5 mins.  Add meat(s) and mix very well.

Press mixture into 18 muffin cups and bake at 375 degrees for 20 minutes.  Drizzle/top with remaining sauce mixture reserved earlier. Bake 10 minutes longer, or until meat thermometer reads 160 degrees.

Leftover loaved are freezeable!  Thaw frozen loaves and reheat at 350 degrees for 30 minutes.  Can also be microwaved for 1 minute each.

Twice baked potatoes

8 large baking potatoes

1/2 pound bulk pork sausage, cooked and drained

1/4 cup butter, softened

2 cups shredded cheddar cheese

1 1/2 cups diced fully cooked ham

6 bacon slices, cooked, drained, crumbled

1 cup sour cream

1/2 cup Italian dressing

Salt and pepper to taste

Scrub and pierce potatoes, microwave for 14-16 minutes or until tender.  Allow to cool slightly, until you can handle them safely.  When cool enough to handle, cut in half lengthwise, scoop out all but 1/4″ of insides.  Place potato insides in a bowl, add butter and sour cream, mix until smooth.  Add sausage, cheese, bacon, ham, salad dressing and mix well.  Spoon mixture into shells, place in baking pan, bake at 400 degrees for 30 minutes.

The house smells wonderful, can’t wait to eat!!  Have to admit, we all tasted some of the leftover potato filling, it was AWESOME!!

So, until tomorrow, eat well friends!!

9 Comments

  1. Marline Shepeard said,

    I found your weblog web site on google and test just a few of your early posts. Continue to keep up the excellent operate. I just extra up your RSS feed to my MSN News Reader. Seeking ahead to reading more from you in a while!…

  2. free car insurance deals said,

    Hi, I think your blog might be having browser compatibility issues. When I look at your website in Ie, it looks fine but when opening in Internet Explorer, it has some overlapping. I just wanted to give you a quick heads up! Other then that, awesome blog!

    • dlcwelch828 said,

      Sorry if you are having issues! I’ll bring it up with the WordPress folks. I don’t use IE unless I absolutely have to anymore, as I found it to have issues with almost every site I visit, it hates Facebook completely, and it’s just slow and clunky on my computer. I use Chrome almost exclusively. Thank you for letting me know so I can tell the WordPress folks they might have a bug to work out! Thanks for visiting!!

  3. Angelyn Shrimplin said,

    Today, I went to the beach front with my children. I found a sea shell and gave it to my 4 year old daughter and said “You can hear the ocean if you put this to your ear.” She placed the shell to her ear and screamed. There was a hermit crab inside and it pinched her ear. She never wants to go back! LoL I know this is entirely off topic but I had to tell someone!

  4. compare car insurance rates said,

    Hi! I just wanted to ask if you ever have any problems with hackers? My last blog (wordpress) was hacked and I ended up losing many months of hard work due to no back up. Do you have any solutions to protect against hackers?

    • dlcwelch828 said,

      I haven’t yet, but I’m sure it will happen some time… I can tell you that I get a LOT of really strange spam, though!

  5. Angelyn Shrimplin said,

    Hey! Do you know if they make any plugins to assist with SEO? I’m trying to get my blog to rank for some targeted keywords but I’m not seeing very good success. If you know of any please share. Thanks!

    • dlcwelch828 said,

      I can honestly say I have no idea, not even sure what you’re talking about! Sorry!!!

Leave a Reply

