The Great 2012 Cooking Extravaganza Day 9

January 11, 2012 at 12:51 am (Food) (, , , , , , , , , )

Hello and welcome back!

Last night’s curry was a little mild, even for me!  I don’t particularly care for spicy food, but I expected “curry” to have at least a LITTLE heat!  Guess I’ll have to try another recipe, and maybe a different spice blend.  I did buy FOUR different kinds once I finally found an Indian grocery, so I’ve got plenty to experiment with.

Anyway, tonight’s menu was a little more “homey”.  Pork roast in the crock pot, with Yukon gold potatoes and carrots.  Added in 1 Tbsp dried thyme and 1 Tbsp minced garlic, cooked for 9 hours on low.  Roast was literally falling apart when I took it out!  It was SO tender! I think next pork roast with be with BBQ spices, since it literally fell into what I would consider “shredded” BBQ anyway, I can just sauce it, heat it, and put it on buns!

And I decided to do another dessert tonight.  Last night’s homemade chocolate pudding with homemade whipped cream went so fast it made my head spin!  I’ll have to keep that recipe around!!  Tonight, I’m making mom’s Egg Nog Pound Cake.  I’ve had it before, but I’ve never MADE it before, so I’m counting it!  Here’s the recipe…

Egg Nog Pound Cake

1 boxed pound cake mix

1 1/4 Cups egg nog (without nutmeg if you can find it!)

2 large eggs

1/2 Tsp vanilla

1/2 Tsp nutmeg (fresh if you can get it, but dried works OK too

Mix all ingredients with mixer on LOW, then mix on MEDIUM for 2 minutes.

Pour into GREASED loaf pan.

Bake at 350 degrees for 1 hour 5 minutes.  Cool in pan for 10 minutes, remove and cool on rack for 1 hour.  Serve slightly warm, with vanilla ice cream or vanilla pudding if you’ve got it.  It’s also really good by itself, but I like a little decadence now and then!

Until tomorrow, eat well, love well, be well!

Leave a Reply

