The Great 2012 Cooking Extravaganza! Day 10

January 12, 2012 at 2:40 am (Food) (, , , , )

Hello friends, and welcome back!

Last night’s meal of pork roast and veggies was wonderful, and there were leftovers for lunch today, so that was cool.  First time since the twice baked potatoes that we had anything leftover!  I don’t know if that’s a good thing or not, as I was used to having leftovers for lunch the next day, and they’ve been a little scarce since I started this project!  Guess I need to get better at making extras???

Anyway, on the menu tonight was Sheepherder’s Breakfast, but with my own little twists.  Here’s the recipe, including my tweeks:

1 pound sliced bacon, diced

1 medium onion, chopped (I didn’t have ONE medium onion, but I did have a whole BAG of green onions, so I chopped up 5 of those instead)

32 ounces frozen shredded hash browns, thawed (I mistakenly bought a 24 ounce bag, OOPS!)

10 eggs (since I had less hash browns, I also went with 8 eggs)

2 cups shredded cheddar cheese

Salt and pepper to taste

So, the recipe said to cook the bacon until crisp, and cook the onion with it until soft, which I did, then drain off the grease, which I did.  I was supposed to reserve ONLY 1/2 a cup of grease, but I didn’t even HAVE 1/2 a cup, so I made due.  Recipe said to put the 1/2 cup of grease back into the pan with the bacon and onion, so I put what I had right back into the pan!  Then you add the hash browns, cooking about 10 minutes or until brown.  Well, let me tell you, without enough grease, the hash browns never actually got really brown, but I forged ahead anyway.  Next step was supposed to be to make little “wells” in the hash brown mixture, crack an egg into each well, top with cheddar cheese, salt and pepper, cover and cook another 10 minutes or until the eggs are set, which looking at the picture, the eggs are sort of poached.  Well, no one in this house can handle a poached egg, so here’s what I did…  I beat the eggs, poured them and the cheese over the hash brown mixture, and cooked for that same 10 minutes.  I had to stir a few times to make sure all the eggs cooked, but in the end, it really turned out pretty well!  Not as pretty as the picture in the cook book, of course, but good enough that we all wanted seconds!

Tomorrow night, something with chicken, still deciding what exactly…

Until then, keep eating!!

Leave a Reply

