The Great 2012 Cooking Extravaganza! Day 12

January 14, 2012 at 2:02 am (Food) (, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , )

Welcome back friends and family!

Tonight’s dinner went over much better than last night’s!  Except for William, everyone liked my take on burgers…

I combined hamburger meat (I think it was ground chuck), onion soup mix and egg, then turned it into patties and cooked them on the George Foreman grill.  (I have to say, I like cooking on that thing, but I’m not liking the clean up!  There must be a trick I’m missing…)  Then, I sliced up some fresh pineapple and grilled a few of the slices as well.  I picked up some fresh made hard rolls at Walmart and sliced those open instead of pre-made hamburger rolls, which are sort of bland.  Then everyone got to pick what kind of cheese they wanted on their burger, American, Swiss or cheddar, the onion burger, grilled pineapple if they wanted it, and then whatever sauce they wanted.  Most of us thought the burgers were really good, but William said the soup flavor was too strong, so he had a sandwich and a salad.

Oh yeah, I made a HUGE salad to go with our burgers, but I’m getting smarter…  I chopped up green onion, green pepper, cucumber, tomato, carrot and celery to go with the lettuce, but I put them each in separate containers so everyone could have what they wanted on their salad, too!  (Yeah, I have a house full of picky eaters, but I’m learning how to get around them! LOL)

And on the stove now, I’m making rice custard pudding, which should take a couple of hours according to the recipe, so I’ll have to let you know tomorrow how it turned out!

Here’s the recipe:

4 cups milk divided

1/2 cup uncooked long-grain rice

1/4 cup butter

3 eggs

3/4 cup sugar

1 tsp vanilla

1/4 tsp salt

1/2 tsp ground nutmeg

In the top of a double boiler, combine rice and 2 cups milk.  Cook, stirring occasionally over boiling water until rice is tender and most of the water has evaporated, about 45 minutes.  Stir in butter.

In a mixing bowl, beat eggs, blend in sugar, vanilla, salt and 2 cups milk.  Stir into hot rice mixture.  Pour into a lightly greased 2 qt. casserole and top with nutmeg.  Bake at 350 degrees for 50 minutes or until firm.

Serve warm or chilled.  Leftovers make good breakfast!

Until tomorrow, eat well my friends!

6 Comments

  1. mymatejoechip said,

    can’t go wrong with grilled pineapple!

  2. nj car insurance companies said,

    Good day I am so excited I found your weblog, I really found you by mistake, while I was searching on Yahoo for something else, Regardless I am here now and would just like to say thanks a lot for a fantastic post and a all round exciting blog (I also love the theme/design), I donít have time to look over it all at the minute but I have saved it and also added your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read much more, Please do keep up the superb job.

  3. aarp car insurance quote said,

    Thanks for one’s marvelous posting! I really enjoyed reading it, you could be a great author.I will be sure to bookmark your blog and will eventually come back very soon. I want to encourage you to ultimately continue your great work, have a nice evening!

  4. undelete files in windows xp said,

    Hello! I’ve been reading your blog for a long time now and finally got the courage to go ahead and give you a shout out from Humble Texas! Just wanted to say keep up the great work!

    • dlcwelch828 said,

      Well thank you, and welcome aboard! Hope you continue to enjoy my ramblings…

Leave a Reply

