The Great 2012 Cooking Extravaganza! Day 14

January 16, 2012 at 12:50 am (Food) (, , , , , , , , , , , )

Hello friends, and welcome back!

Well, fish tacos…  what can I say…  EWWWWWWWWWWW!!!

We aren’t big fish eaters, and I’m trying to find ways to get more fish into our diet, without eating frozen fish fillets or take out fried fish, but this wasn’t it.  The fish tasted OK, everything else that went into the tacos tasted OK, but together, EWWW!

Just in case I got it wrong, or you actually LIKE fish to begin with, here’s the recipe:

Fish Tacos

Fish fillets, fresh or thawed frozen, approximately 12 ounces, rinsed and patted dry (I used tilapia, since it doesn’t usually taste “fishy”)

2 Tbsp olive oil mixed with 1/2 tsp salt, 1/4 tsp ground cumin, 1/4 tsp garlic powder

Shredded lettuce

Diced tomato

Shredded cheese of choice

Sour cream, or ranch dressing, or salsa, or all of the above

Taco shells, or flour tortillas, your choice

Brush fish fillets with oil/spice mixture, grill on George Foreman grill literally 5 minutes, the fish will be cooked perfectly!  Remove from grill, flake into bite sized pieces.

Place a couple tablespoons of fish, shredded lettuce, cheese, and sauce of choice either in a taco shell or on a flour tortilla and serve.

So, here’s the story of our dinner tonight…

William gets his first, sans lettuce of course, sits down, take a couple small, tentative bites, and says “well, it’s not great, but it’s not inedible.” LOL!

Then my husband, Mike, gets his, takes a couple of bites, and gives me a funny look.  I’m thinking, OK, here’s the one person in the house who actually LIKES fish to begin with, and he’s not enthused…  I’m in trouble!

So, I get mine together, take a couple bites, look at both of them, and say “you’re right, it’s not inedible, and that’s the best thing I can say!”

So, we put everything away, and I made a run to Arby’s!  This is officially our first failure in this grand experiment.  Fish tacos just aren’t for us!  I’m thinking I’m going to make something like tuna salad with the leftover fish, maybe throw in a little Old Bay to give it some flavor.  And now I know why I’ve always battered and fried my fish, I have to cover that taste somehow!

Tomorrow, everyone is off, so I’m going to make mini chicken pot pie type things, with phyllo dough, since I’ll have lots of time and help around the house.  Maybe I’ll do some more of those blueberry wontons from last night, those went over well!  And I think we’re going to go try to see the manatees during the day.  I’ll try to get a couple photos!

Until then, eat well, love well, live well my friends!

Leave a Reply

