The Great 2012 Cooking Extravaganza! Day 18

January 20, 2012 at 3:47 am (Food) (, , , , , , , , , , , , , , )

Hello my friends, and welcome back!

Sorry this is so late, it’s been a busy day around here…  been working on rebranding my business on Facebook (feel free to come check out my page, Nirvana Bay Designs!) so I’ve spent the better part of this week photographing all my existing stock of jewelry, Christmas ornaments and Treasure Boxes, pulling out items I made literally years ago but never sold so I can give them to my local Hospice for a fundraiser they are planning for their sister chapter in Italy (I think!) where they want items made in the USA, uploading and pricing all the stuff for my page, getting things together for a yard sale this weekend, and getting ready for a local craft show. And yet, through all this, I’ve still managed to get in some cooking today!!  And it was GOOD!!! So here’s what was on the menu tonight…

 

Beer Battered Fish (and chips, of course, but those were frozen…)

Vegetable oil for cooking

3 thawed frozen Tilapia fillets (roughly 1 pound)

3-4 Tbsp Bisquick

1 cup Bisquick

1/2 cup beer

1 egg, beaten

1/2 tsp salt

1 Tbsp Old Bay seasoning (this is my personal touch, and it was good!!  Could have even used a little more!)

Heat oil, 1 1/2″ deep, in skillet or deep fryer to 350 degrees.

Lightly coat fish in 3-4 tbsp Bisquick

Mix remaining ingredients with hand beater just until smooth.  If batter is too thick, add more beer 1 tbsp at a time until desired consistency.  Dip coated fish in batter.

Fry in oil 2-3 minutes per side or until golden brown (I tend to cook at a little lower temp, right around 3.5-4 setting on my electric stove, so I don’t scorch my pans, so I actually cooked each piece about 5 minutes per side).  Drain and serve with french fries.

Suggestions from the original recipe:

Serve in parchment lined baskets with cole slaw, chips and a pickle, side of tartar sauce

These also work well on a bun with tartar sauce, lettuce and tomato as the ultimate fish sandwich!

These do NOT work well as leftovers, they get a little soggy.

Creamy Rice Pudding

3/4 cup uncooked rice

2 cups milk, divided (1 1/2 cups and 1/2 cup)

1/3 cup sugar (or 1/3 of 1/3 of a cup Splenda, haven’t worked that out yet for a “real” measurement!)

1/4 tsp salt

1 egg, beaten 

2/3 cup raisins (suggested golden raisins, but regular raisins work just fine) 

1 Tbsp butter cut into small pieces

1/2 tsp vanilla

In medium sauce pan, heat 1 1/2 cups water to boiling, cook rice 20 minutes or until water is gone (only took 15 minutes for me on medium low heat, around setting 3.5 on my electric stove)

Combine 1 1/2 cups milk, sugar and salt in a bowl, add to rice when it’s cooked.  Cook and stir over medium low heat (3.5 ish) for 15 – 20 minutes or until thick and creamy (took almost exactly 15 minutes for me!)

In mixing bowl, combine 1/2 cup milk, raisins and beaten egg.  Add to cooked rice mixture when ready.  Cook another 2 minutes.  Remove from heat, add butter and vanilla, stir until butter is melted into pudding.

Allow to cook slightly, about 15 minutes, serve warm.

Serving suggestions:

Add a few tablespoons half and half

Sprinkle with cinnamon sugar

Soak the raisins in rum for a few hours before using in the pudding

Substitute chopped dates for the raisins

Leave out the raisins completely

 

So, busy busy day, but I’m happy, I finally found a rice pudding recipe worth keeping!  I got all my photos uploaded to my new Facebook page for my jewelry business.  I cleaned some more stuff out of my house for a yard sale.  I got invited to a craft show, that’s free!  Yup, busy day, but good day!!

Until tomorrow friends, eat well!

2 Comments

  1. Mom said,

    Sounds yummy, can I come over?

Leave a Reply

