The Great 2012 Cooking Extravaganza! Day 19

January 20, 2012 at 11:28 pm (Food) (, , , , , , )

Hello friends, and welcome back!
This is actually NOT a new recipe for me, but it’s been a while since I’ve eaten it, and I’ve never MADE it before, so I’m counting it!
This originally came from my cousin Kim Cogswell Willard, but came to me courtesy of my mother, Patricia Scott Cogswell, so thank you to both lovely ladies!
Chicken Stuffing Casserole
8 boneless, skinless chicken breasts, trimmed if needed and cut into bite sized pieces
2 packages stove top stuffing mix (chicken) (I actually used Great Value’s version, which was a little different)
8 slices Swiss cheese
2 cans cream of chicken soup (and I didn’t HAVE two cans, so I used one cream of chicken and one cream of mushroom)
1. Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees
2. Wash and drain chicken. Lightly butter 13 X 9 X 2 casserole dish
3. Prepare stuffing: Combine ingredients of 2 veg/season packages, 1/2 cup margarine in pieces and 3 cups hot water. (here’s where I got into trouble with the Great Value brand, they don’t HAVE a separate packet of seasonings, it’s all mixed in! But I think it will be OK)
4. Stir in stuffing crumbs to moisten (hot water method from box, don’t cook stuffing on stove)
5. Spread stuffing on bottom of casserole dish. Lay chicken (cut-up) on top. Cover chicken with cheese
6. Mix soup with 2 tablespoons of milk and spread over chicken
7. Bake uncovered for 1 hour
This serves 6 – 8 people
I’m serving this with simple canned veggies, since that’s what I have on hand.  Tomorrow is shopping day, so I need to stock up on fresh veggies and salad stuff, and of course I have to plan out the recipes for the next two weeks so I can put together a good list, but I have a craft show to do tomorrow as well, so this is going to get tricky…  maybe Sunday will be shopping day this time!
Anyway, I’ll take some pics before it’s all gone and add them later…
Until then, eat well, love well, live well!
Leave a Reply

