The Great 2012 Cooking Extravaganza! Day 23

January 25, 2012 at 12:45 am (Food) (, , , , , , , , , )

Hello friends, and welcome back!  So glad you’ve joined me again for my nightly food ramblings.  I have to say, tonight’s dinner was a HUGE success, so much so that almost all the food is GONE, and even William didn’t have anything bad to say about anything on the table!  And the best part, I didn’t have a recipe, this one was all mine!!  🙂

So, here’s what I cooked up, you have got to give this a try and let me know if your family liked it as much as mine did!

Denise’s Fried Chicken

2 boneless skinless chicken breasts, approx 2 lbs, trimmed of any leftover skin (they always have a little, don’t they?), and pounded to approx 1/4-1/2″ thick (yes, I finally bought a meat tenderizer/hammer, so my rolling pin is safe once again LOL!)

1/2 a box Progresso Panko bread crumbs (I had a coupon)

1/4 cup Everglades seasoning (I’ve been looking for new ways to use this)

1 tsp fresh ground pepper

I added a pinch of salt, and it really didn’t need it with the salt in the Everglades seasoning, so I would advise against adding any extra salt, but that’s really up to you!

2 eggs lightly beaten

1/2 cup flour

Oil for frying

 

Place flour in a wide shallow bowl, set aside.

Beat eggs in another wide shallow bowl, set aside.

Combine bread crumbs, Everglades seasoning and pepper in another wide shallow bowl, set aside.

Once you’ve pounded out the chicken, cut it into roughly equal portions, mine were about 3″ by about 2″.  Coat each piece in flour, then in egg, then roll it in the breadcrumb mixture.  Fry in oil approx 5 mins per side, or until no longer pink inside.  Serve with or without gravy (I did gravy, just seemed like the thing to do tonight…)

Sauteed Green Beans

1 lb fresh string beans, washed and ends trimmed, cut in half if desired (James did this part for me)

1 Tbsp minced garlic (I keep a bottle of minced garlic on hand because I’m just not any good at mincing!)

2 Tbsp butter

Heat butter in frying pan, add in garlic, stir.  Add in green beans and cook, stirring every few minutes, until tender crisp.  Serve warm.

We also had a nice fresh salad, Welch style, with all the cool stuff in separate containers so everyone could make their salad their way.  James cut everything up for me, which was VERY cool!  I love having help in the kitchen, especially when they know what they’re doing!

All in all, a very good evening, and a very good meal!

Until tomorrow dear friends, eat well, love well, live well!

Leave a Reply

