The Great 2012 Cooking Extravaganza! Day 40

February 11, 2012 at 2:12 am (Food) (, , , , , , , , , )

Hello friends, and welcome back!

I’m so glad you guys can join me in my nightly ramblings!  As you know, I’ve had some successes, and a few failures, but so far it’s been more good than not, so I’m happy.

Tonight, William picked the recipe, Cheeseburger meatloaf.  Friday is supposed to be burger night, you know, I made that deal with William that we could have burgers on Fridays, supposed to help keep the peace…  well, we talked about it, and as long as the dish is hamburger based, he’s good with it, so I don’t have to make actual BURGERS every Friday!  Thank goodness, I was running out of ideas on how to make them different every week!

So here’s the recipe:

Cheeseburger Meatloaf

1 pound hamburger meat (I used ground chuck)

1/2 cup ketchup, divided in half

1 egg, beaten

1/4 cup bread crumbs (I used Italian seasoned)

6 slices American cheese

2 Tsp mustard (I used brown)

2 Tsp dill relish

Salt and pepper to taste

Mix 1/4 cup ketchup, beaten egg, bread crumbs and salt and pepper in a bowl.  Mix in burger VERY WELL.  Spread onto waxed paper into a 10″ x 6″ rectangle.

In a small bowl, mix remaining 1/4 cup ketchup, mustard and relish.  Spread onto meat mixture.  Top with 4 slices American cheese.  Using waxed paper to lift, roll into a spiral starting with a shorter edge, will only roll a couple times, don’t expect too much!  Make sure to only use the paper to lift and help roll, don’t include it IN the meat roll!

Place meat roll into a loaf pan, and bake at 350 degrees for 45 minutes.  Top with remaining cheese slices, put back in the oven for 5-10 minutes, or until cheese it just melted, not browned. (I actually used shredded cheese since I have SO MUCH of it around right now) Remove from oven, allow to rest for about 10 minutes before slicing.  Serve!

I also made a “plain” meatloaf, since I had everything together anyway, and I’m glad I did!  Everyone went for seconds, or thirds in some cases, so we actually went through a meatloaf and a half!!  Here’s the other recipe…

Mom’s Meatloaf

1 pound ground chuck

1 pound ground sausage

1/2 cup bread crumbs, Italian seasoned

1 egg

1 can tomato paste (NOT sauce)

Salt and pepper to taste

Mix everything in a large bowl, USE YOUR HANDS, it will be messy, but it’s the only way to get it all mixed right and smooth.  Put the mixture into a loaf pan, bake at 350 degrees for 1 hour.  Remove from oven and allow to rest at least 10 minutes before slicing.    Serve with mashed potatoes and gravy, it’s awesome!  Also makes really good meatloaf sandwiches the next day…

Until tomorrow, friends, eat well, love well, live well!

 

1 Comment

  1. Mom said,

    Sounds YUMMY!

Leave a Reply

