The Great 2012 Cooking Extravaganza! Day 42

February 12, 2012 at 11:53 pm (Food) (, , , , , , , , , , , )

Hello my friends, and welcome back!!  So glad you’ve decided to join me again…

Tonight, I had planned another pot roast, not sure what was going to be “different” about it, but I have a couple of cookbooks…  HOWEVER, I mentioned pot roast, and William says “again?!”  Apparently, we’ve been having a lot of roasts lately, but I’ve been getting really good deals on them, and they are SO easy!

Anyway, I decided, maybe we were having too many roasts, and I needed to do something different.  So, I trimmed the larger portions of fat from the sides of the roast, there weren’t really many since I bought an eye round roast, but there was just a little.  Then I cut it into bite sized pieces, and they turned into:

Pot Roast Stew

2 pound eye round roast, trimmed of fat, cut into bite sized pieces (approx 1/2″)

1 pound small red potatoes, cut into similarly sized pieces as the meat

3 large carrots, peeled and cut into same sized pieces as meat

2 cups frozen green beans, STILL FROZEN, cut or broken into roughly 1″ pieces

1 cup frozen peas, STILL FROZEN

1 carton beef broth

1 Tbsp each rosemary and thyme (I put mine into a tea/spice ball so I don’t hear any complaints from the peanut gallery, mainly William)

1 Tbsp each salt and pepper

2 Tbsp soy sauce

1 cup cold water mixed with about 1/2 cup flour

Brown beef in a few Tbsps of oil in a large stock pot.  Add in beef broth, then veggies, salt and pepper.  Place spice ball with rosemary and thyme into broth, cover and simmer over medium to medium-low heat for about 1 hour, or until potatoes and carrots are tender.  Stir in soy sauce.  Stir in flour mixture, and serve!

Even the picky one liked this, and there are just about 3 servings left over for lunches.

Until tomorrow friends, eat well, love well, live well!

3 Comments

  1. Julia said,

    This looks great, thanks for the recipe!

  2. Mom said,

    All right! We had stew tonight too, this chilly weather called for it!

Leave a Reply

