The Great 2012 Cooking Extravaganza! Day 45

February 16, 2012 at 12:02 am (Food) (, , , , , , , , )

Hello again friends, and welcome back!  Glad you could join me again…

Tonight, I just didn’t really feel like cooking, but I knew I had to, so I improvised a little.

Old Bay Fried Fish

3 frozen Tilapia fillets, thawed and split in half

1 cup plain bread crumbs

3 Tbsp Old Bay seasoning

3 eggs

Olive oil cooking spray

Spray large skillet with cooking spray, heat over medium.

In a wide shallow bowl, lightly beat three eggs and set aside.

In a separate wide shallow bowl, mix bread crumbs and Old Bay.

Dip each half fillet in egg, then in seasoned bread crumbs.  Place in pan, and spray side facing up with cooking spray.  Cook 3-5 minutes per side, or until fish is cooked through and flaky.

Fried Rice (quick version)

2 cups leftover rice

1 cup frozen peas, thawed

2 Tbsp soy sauce

1 Tsp ground ginger

1 egg, beaten

3 Tbsp oil

In a large wok or skillet, heat oil over medium heat.  Add rice, heat 4-5 minutes or just until warm.  Move rice to one side, add egg, cook scrambled, mix into rice.  Add peas, soy sauce and ginger, mix well, heat 8-10 minutes or until heated through.

I serve this with some simple boiled green beans.

Must have been OK, it’s almost all gone.  Even William said the fish and rice were good, and he doesn’t eat rice!

And I have a comment on that rice…  I said yesterday that I didn’t really notice a difference in the taste, even though I cooked it in chicken broth instead of plain water, well I was wrong!  I ate some plain earlier today, and it was GOOD!  I’ll have to remember that next time I make a pot of rice.

And say “thanks” to William for taking the photos tonight!  I might get him more involved one of these days…

Until tomorrow, eat well, love well, live well!

Leave a Reply

