The Great 2012 Cooking Extravaganza! Day 56

February 26, 2012 at 11:17 pm (Food) (, , , , , , , , )

Hello again dear friends, and welcome back!  Glad to have you along on my little adventure into the world of culinary delights!

Sunday night usually means a big family dinner for us, but we moved furniture today, and reorganized our movie collection (I shudder to think how many we have, so I’ve never counted, but I would say hundreds…), and just generally cleaned things up a bit, and in the midst of all that, I forgot to thaw out anything, so I had to think of something that thaws fast and cooks just as fast…  Fish!  I buy these big bags of individually frozen and packaged Tilapia fillets, which thaw out in about 5 minutes in a cold water bath (still in their bags!), so all I have to do is rinse and prepare.  So tonight we had:

Beer Batter Fish

4 frozen Tilapia fillets, thawed, cut into bite sized pieces

1/2 cup Bisquick

2 cups Bisquick

1 cup beer

2 eggs

1/2 Tsp salt

Put 1/2 cup Bisquick into a wide shallow bowl, set aside.

Mix 2 cups Bisquick, beer, eggs and salt in another wide shallow bowl.  You can add other spices at this point if you want, maybe some Old Bay or Everglades seasoning (which are actually really good!), but I didn’t tonight.

Pat fish dry with paper towels, dip first in dry Bisquick, then coat in batter.  Fry in hot oil in a large skillet, about 2 minutes per side or until deep golden brown and crispy.  Remove from pan and drain on paper towels.  Serve with french fries, and…

Home Made Tartar Sauce

1 cup mayonnaise (I only use Helman’s, don’t know why, but I prefer it)

4-5 Tbsp dill pickle relish

Mix together well, serve as a side in a small bowl!  I know some (most) people make Tartar sauce with onions, but I REALLY don’t like raw onion, so I always skip it.  This is just so quick and easy, and it really is perfect with fried fish.  You can add a little malt vinegar if you have some, maybe a couple teaspoons.

Hope ya’ll enjoyed this meal!

Until tomorrow, eat well, love well, live well!!

 

Leave a Reply

