The Great 2012 Cooking Extravaganza! Day 58

February 28, 2012 at 11:47 pm (Food) (, , , , , , )

Hello again!  Welcome back 🙂  So glad you could join me again…

Sorry again about yesterday, guess I was just feeling lazy!

BUT, I’m making up for it today!!!  Tonight, dinner was really good, if I do say so myself (and I just did).  It was a little more relaxed around here today, regular schedule back in effect, no early release from school today, no scouts, so I had time to think about what to cook, and time to actually cook it!

So, here’s what we had:

Chicken Enchiladas

5 boneless skinless chicken breasts

1 box Great Value chicken broth

1/2 cup Tone’s taco seasoning

1 can Campbell’s cream of chicken soup

2 cups Great Value Picante sauce

6 Great Value flour tortillas, soft taco size

Fiesta blend shredded cheese

In the morning, rinse the chicken breasts (thawed, not frozen please) and place them in a crock pot.  Add in the chicken broth and taco seasoning, cook on LOW for 6-7 hours.  You will know they are done because they will float to the top and you will have to scoop them out with a slotted spoon because they will fall apart if you try to pick them up with a fork!

When the chicken is done, remove from pot, and shred.

(Mine was SO done, all I had to do was press down with a fork and it fell apart!)

Line a large baking pan with tin foil. (I use the roasting pan that came with my stove)

Put the cream of chicken soup and the picante sauce in a blender, and use the “liquify” setting until it’s nice and smooth.  (my picky eater, William, LOVES salsa and picante sauce, but not the “chunks” in it, so if I make it smooth, he gets all the veggie goodness without the argument)

Mix this sauce with the shredded chicken.

Place a tortilla in your foil lined pan, spoon it 2-3 heaping tablespoons (which is probably more like 5-6 tablespoons when you think about it) of the chicken mixture, and top with a small handful of shredded cheese.

Roll up the tortilla, leaving the ends open, and repeat with another tortilla.  I can get six of these in my baking pan (which actually left me with some leftover filling, but I’ll find another use for it).  Sprinkle with some more shredded cheese, how much is completely up to you.  I used maybe half a cup to top these off.  Bake at 350 degrees for about 15 minutes or until cheese is melted.  Serve!

Couple of thoughts, things I think I’ll try next time…  I was going to use some rice in here, too, but forgot until after I put them in the oven.  Refried beans might have been a nice touch, too, but not sure how that would have been with the chicken.  Maybe on the side with some cheese on top??  And I wish I had some enchilada sauce to put over them before they went in the oven, would have added a nice kick.  Oh well, there will be another time I’m sure!

Anyway, everyone liked them, and there was a little leftover, so I count it as a good meal!

Until tomorrow, eat well, love well, live well!!

Leave a Reply

