The Great 2012 Cooking Extravaganza! Day 71

March 12, 2012 at 11:56 pm (Food) (, , , , , , )

Hello again friends, and welcome back!  So glad you could join me again.

Well, here we are, spring break for William, so no scouts tonight.  James took the day off from work just because he could, spent the day playing video games (big surprise).  Mike had to work, but seems like he had a good day.

I, on the other hand, had a weird day.  I had every intention of working on a new necklace, and finishing a chain for the pin bottle pendant I finished last week, but it just didn’t work out that way.  Spent over an hour clipping coupons, got James to help for a little just because I could.  Put more than 75% of them in the big envelope I keep for my mom, who’s church collects them for service members.  I just don’t buy that much name brand any more, it’s just cheaper to buy generic, and for the most part, I’ve never had any issues with generic stuff.  Went shopping, William helped.  William decided to have a couple of friends over for a while, things went well.  Then all of a sudden, William is saying he doesn’t feel well, and he’s running 101 fever.  No other symptoms to speak of, just a fever, and he just wants to lay down.  So I gave him Advil, made him start drinking Gatorade, and took the friends home.

Anyway, I ended up going back to a family favorite for dinner, just because I didn’t really have a plan, and it was easy enough that I could have it on the table quickly, and still keep an eye on William.

Spaghetti with Meat Sauce

1 pound ground beef (I used ground round because it’s a little lower in fat, but still has good flavor)

1 bottle Great Value meat flavored spaghetti sauce

1 can Hunts tomato paste

1 Tsp garlic powder

1 pound pasta of choice (I used angel hair this time)

Salt and pepper to taste

Brown and drain the ground beef, then put it back in the pan.  Add in the tomato sauce, tomato paste and garlic powder.  Season with salt and pepper to your taste.  Mix well, and simmer over low while cooking the pasta to package directions.   Drain pasta, and serve with the meat sauce.

So, a quick and easy family favorite, which you can dress up with some veggies (assuming YOUR family will eat them, mine won’t!), serve with garlic bread or salad, and makes great leftovers.

And that’s it for today!  Until tomorrow, eat well, love well, live well!

Leave a Reply

