The Great 2012 Cooking Extravaganza! Day 74

March 16, 2012 at 1:05 am (Food) (, , , , , , , , , , , )

Hello again friends, and welcome back!

Today was a very lazy day around here.  I put stuff in the crock pot this morning, then spent almost the entire day reading a book.  Absolutely no real work got done, and that’s just fine.  I needed a day like this!

So here’s what went in the pot:

Mango BBQ Chicken

6 boneless skinless chicken breasts

2 cans tomato paste

1 can mango nectar

1/2 Cup brown sugar

3 Tbsp molasses

2 Tbsp BBQ seasoning

4 Tbsp white vinegar

Water enough to cover chicken in pot

I suggest mixing everything except the chicken up in a bowl, or the crock pot bowl, THEN adding the chicken, but even that won’t really help this one much.  Cook on LOW 7-8 hours.  Remove chicken from pot and shred.  Add some of the juices from the pot to the shredded chicken, and serve on bread or rolls.

I’m going to tell you right now, this smelled absolutely fantastic, but tasted NOTHING like BBQ at all.  It didn’t taste bad, but it wasn’t BBQ.  I ended up draining the excess juice from my shredded chicken and covering it in bottled BBQ sauce before serving it.  I guess I was really in the mood for BBQ!

I did make home made cole slaw to go with this, and THAT turned out really well.  I chopped up 1/2 head of cabbage in my electric chopper, 2 carrots, and then put in my own dressing:

1 cup mayonnaise

4 Tbsp white vinegar

1/8 cup sugar

Salt and pepper

Mix all this up, put it in the fridge for about an hour before serving.  I actually put this on my BBQ sandwich, but that’s me…

And for dessert, I made my fruit wontons, both apple and blueberry.  I even put a little twist on the blueberry, I added a smear of cream cheese!  They came out really well, as usual!

Anyway, no photos, sorry!  Maybe tomorrow…

Until then, eat well, love well, live well!

Leave a Reply

