The Great 2012 Cooking Extravaganza! Day 75

March 17, 2012 at 3:01 pm (Food) (, , , , , , , , , , , , , , )

Hello again, and welcome back!!  So glad you could join me on this little adventure!  🙂

So, here we are again, Friday night, burger night to appease my youngest, but it’s getting BORING!  I’m getting tired of trying to come up with “new” things to do with burgers, so I switched it up just a little…  TURKEY burgers!  And, much as I hate to admit it, they were good.  I expected dry, boring, tasteless lumps, but they actually had flavor, and it was a good flavor.  I picked Jennie-O brand because I had a coupon (gotta love those coupons!), and because it’s a name I know and trust.  Their deli turkey is really good, and reasonably priced compared to all the other brands out there, plus their turkey roasts are really good, actual turkey not turkey flavored jello, or whatever those other folks use.

Anyway, I did turkey burgers on the George Foreman grill, made bacon to go on top, and set out all the fixin’s like three different kinds of cheese, ketchup, mustard, mayo, relish.  Had some leftover cole slaw from Thursday’s failed BBQ experiment, fresh steamed broccoli, Great Value chips.  All in all, a decent meal!

And, to end the night on a very positive note, I made coffee cakes (yes, plural) for dessert.  I had to hunt around for a recipe for Bisquick coffee cake, seems it’s NOT on the box any more (BOO!), but I got one, plus I improvised a little, so here we go:

Bisquick Coffee Cake

Dough

2 Cups Bisquick mix

2/3 cup milk or water

1 egg

2 Tbsp sugar

Topping

1/3 Cup Bisquick

1/3 Cup packed brown sugar

1/4 Tsp cinnamon

2 Tbsp butter, melted

Heat oven to 400 degrees.

Grease 8″ or 9″ square baking pan.  You can do this in a round if you want, but sometimes it comes out overdone around the edges.  Square really does work better!

Mix together dough ingredients, spread into prepared pan.

Mix together topping ingredients with a fork.  If you want it a little drier, add a little more brown sugar and Bisquick.  I like it moist rather than crumbly.  Drop small pieces of topping all over cake, press into cake, or drag a knife through topping and dough to mix in a little.  Either way works well!

Bake 25 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.  Mine was EXACTLY 25 minutes.

Oh, and in my second cake, I mixed a diced nectarine into the dough.  I was going to do apple, but we were out, so I used what I had!  It turned out really well!!  Here are some other ideas for possible mix-ins:

Diced apples

Pineapple tidbits

Diced peaches

Chopped nuts, pecans or walnuts would work well

Sorry, no pictures today, I forgot!  Saturday is movie night, munchies night, so I’ll make sure to take lots of pics…

Until tomorrow, eat well, love well, live well!!

Leave a Reply

