The Great 2012 Cooking Extravaganza! Day 77

March 18, 2012 at 11:21 pm (Food) (, , , , , , , , , , )

Hello again friends, and welcome back!  Happy Sunday to you as well.  Hope you all had a nice, restful, productive, whatever you wanted it to be day!  I know I did!

Finally finished the book I got for Christmas, and just started reading a couple of days ago…  11/22/63 by Stephen King.  All I can say is, he did it again!  Love Stephen King, always have, always will.  Except for Tommyknockers….  but that’s not why I’m here today!  I’ll critique books another time.

Today, I read, and relaxed.  Laundry was finished yesterday, so didn’t have to worry about that.  Had to go grocery shopping, but it was a “small” trip for me, so it didn’t take long, and I didn’t have many coupons.  My wonderful guys helped put everything away.  Of course, I had to go grocery shopping because we were out of things, like dishwasher soap, so I had to run the dishwasher a couple of times to catch up, but the kitchen was nice and clean, until I made dinner!  And it’s James’ night to unload the dishwasher, but he’s not here, and I already did it twice today, not doing it again, so I guess I’ll clean up dinner mess later!

Anyway, enough rambling for one day.  On to the recipes!!

Mom’s Meatloaf (makes 2)

2 pounds ground round

1 pound ground sausage

2 cups uncooked oats

2 cans tomato paste (NOT sauce)

2 eggs

Salt and pepper to taste

Line two loaf pans with tin foil.  Mix all ingredients together VERY WELL, getting in there with your hands and really mixing it up good.  Put half of the meat mixture in each pan, and bake at 350 degrees for 1 hour 15 minutes.

I served this with:

Smashed Potatoes

10-12 small red potatoes

2 Tbsp butter

About 1/4 cup milk (when you start mixing this up, you’ll need to add a little at a time until you get the consistency you want)

Salt and pepper to taste

Garlic powder to taste (optional!)

Rinse potatoes well.  Cut into roughly 1″ pieces.  For me, this meant cutting most of them into quarters.  They were pretty small potatoes!  Cook in lightly salted water for approx 1 hour over medium heat.

Drain potatoes, then put them back in the pan.  Add in the butter, cut into pats, and stir until butter in melted.  Mash potatoes with a hand masher, adding in a little milk at a time, until you get the consistency you want.  I left mine a little chunky, but I thought that went well with the skins still in there.  Add in salt and pepper to taste, and garlic powder if using.

I also made plain brown gravy, but I cheated, it was a Tone’s mix, so it was really easy.

So, that’s it for tonight.  Until tomorrow, eat well, love well, live well!

1 Comment

  1. Mom said,

    Hey sweetie, if you use 2 pounds of ground round, you should use 2 pounds of pork. Love that meatloaf! Was my Mom’s recipe.

Leave a Reply

