The Great 2012 Cooking Extravaganza! Day 85

March 27, 2012 at 12:53 am (Food) (, , , )

Hello again friends, and welcome back!  It’s been a very good day around here, and I’m happy I can share it with you!

Busy day, catching up on laundry and dishes after my weekend with the scouts, went grocery shopping, trying to get the house respectable for my mother coming to stay with us for a few days while my dad is recovering from surgery on Tuesday. I don’t want her to feel like she has to do anything around here while she’s visiting, she’s not here for us, it’s just closer to where my dad will be than their house so she won’t have to drive so far or stay in a hotel.

Anyway, we had a nice dinner, even William enjoyed it and asked for more!  Here’s my recipe (and it really is MINE, I didn’t follow anyone else’s this time!):

Beef Enchiladas

1 pound ground beef (I used chuck this time)

2/3 cup water

1/4 cup taco seasoning (I used Tone’s)

About 3 cups shredded cheese (I used a Mexican blend this time)

About 2 cups salsa or picante sauce, blended until smooth

8 flour tortillas

Line a large baking pan with tin foil, spray lightly with olive oil cooking spray, and set aside.  Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Brown ground beef and drain off excess fat. Mix in water and taco seasoning, reduce heat to low and simmer about 10 minutes.

Scoop about 1/4 cup meat into flour tortilla, top with about 1/4 cup shredded cheese, roll up and place in pan.

Repeat with all shells, meat and cheese until meat is gone.  Top with remaining roughly 1 cup shredded cheese and salsa or picante sauce.

Bake 30 minutes at 350 degrees, and serve!

Hope you enjoyed this one, I know we did!

Until tomorrow, eat well, love well, live well!!

Leave a Reply

