The Great 2012 Cooking Extravaganza! Day 92

April 3, 2012 at 12:39 am (Food) (, , , , , , )

Hello again friends, and welcome back!  So glad you could join me again on this journey…

Monday…  what can I say!  Busy day, but then Monday always is around here.  Cleaning up from whatever we did over the weekend, not much in this case, but still had a messy kitchen to deal with.  Worked on a new necklace a little, but I’m running out of beading line, and money, so I think I’ll have to take a break, at least until next weekend anyway.  Argued with a bead supplier over a back-order, they just don’t get it!  I don’t understand why when I order 100 of something, and they have 10 packs in stock, but not the 100 pack, why won’t they just send me 10 of the 10 packs!  It’s still 100 either way, but they make more money on the 10 packs…  guess I get to make a side trip to the local bead store for a suitable replacement part tomorrow.  Gotta get going on a custom order!!  Then, of course, it’s scout night, that went well.  The boys are working on a sportsman badge, so they played marbles and ping-pong tonight, that was interesting.  And, to top it all off, I applied for 12 new job postings, and heard back on three from a couple weeks ago, more “thanks but no thanks”, but at least they are getting back to me instead of just ignoring me!  Maybe my mother is right and I should be the one getting the cooking degree, maybe then I could find a job!

Anyway, here are the two recipes for tonight, both very easy and very tasty:

Fried Fish Bites (yeah, this is a repeat, I know)

1 cup flour

1 cup Panko bread crumbs

1/4 cup Everglades seasoning

4 eggs

3 Tilapia filets, cut into bite sized pieces

In one wide shallow bowl, mix flour, bread crumbs and seasoning, set aside.

In one wide shallow bowl, beat eggs, set aside.

Put cut fish pieces into eggs, coat well.  Remove a few pieces at a time and place in flour mixture, coat well.  Once coated, fry in oil heated over medium heat, cooking about 2-3 minutes per side until light brown and crispy.  Remove to paper towel lined serving tray, and serve warm.

Home Made French Fries

4 large russet potatoes, washed, eyes removed, UNPEELED

Cut potatoes into thin french fry slices. Fry in hot oil approx 8-10 minutes, or until deep golden brown.  Remove from oil to paper towel lined serving tray, salt, serve warm!  I think I need to work on this one a little more, these weren’t very crispy, but they did taste good!

Hope you enjoy these as much as we did!  They are ALL gone!

Until tomorrow, eat well, love well, live well!

Leave a Reply

