The Great 2012 Cooking Extravaganza! Day 109

April 19, 2012 at 10:43 pm (Food) (, , , , )

Hello again friends, and welcome back!  I can’t think of a good word to go with Thursday, so I’ll just say hope you are having a great day!

So, the thought of going back to work is sinking in, getting a little nervous, but a little excited, too.  I start Monday, 8AM, and I still have to make concrete plans for William for before and after school.  He’s 11 now, and I think he’s grown up enough to stay home by himself for a couple of hours, but there’s that little part of me that says NO WAY!  James will most likely be home, so it may not be an issue, but there are just some things up in the air still.

I’ve got plenty of “work clothes”, and most of them still fit, so at least I don’t need to go shopping!  Thank goodness since there is no money for that.  Of course, my wonderful mother offered to get me clothes if I needed them, but I think I’m set for now.  And since I make jewelry, I’ve got something to go with every outfit in my stash!!

Speaking of jewelry, I tried something new today, kind of enjoying it now that I’ve sort of figured it out.  I started a bead embroidery piece today, here’s some photos:

This is the point where my shoulder started hurting from bending over the table so long, so I took a break!  I’ll do some more tomorrow…

And I sort of cheated on dinner…  I bought precooked chicken, potatoes, canned corn, canned gravy and here’s what we ended up with:

Chicken Bowls

1 cooked chicken strip, cut into bite sized pieces

1/2 cup prepared mashed potatoes

1/4 cup prepared chicken gravy

1/2 cup cooked corn

1 slice cheddar cheese, or cheese of your choice, OR 1/4 cup shredded cheese of choice

Layer ingredients in bowl as follows:

Potatoes

Cheese

Chicken

Corn

Gravy

Even though everything is supposed to be warm when you start this, you need to microwave the bowl for about 45 seconds just to make sure the cheese melts well.  Then it’s up to you whether or not you mix it all up!  I do, but I know people who insist on leaving it layered when they eat it.  This is our version of a KFC chicken bowl.  Feel free to mix it up, different veggies, different gravy, different cheese, make it your own!

I also picked up some cookies from the Walmart bakery, so I’m off to nibble now.

Until tomorrow, eat well, love well, live well!!

Leave a Reply

