The Great 2012 Cooking Extravaganza! Day 113

April 24, 2012 at 12:45 am (Food, Personal)

Hello again friends, and welcome back!  Wow, what a day!!!  Hope you all are having a Marvelous Monday.

So, today was my first day back to work after more than a year off, and what a day it was.  Spent the first hour meeting the other 7 people who started today, getting a badge, filling out paperwork.  Spent the next hour and a half touring two different buildings, walking tour, those of you who know me know I’m not a small person, and I have RA, so this was a little more than I had expected, but except for sore feet, it actually wasn’t bad.  I’m sure I’ll pay for it tomorrow.  And the rest of the day was spent literally watching someone else do their job.  I figured out enough to be able to ask some intelligent questions, but watching someone else clicking all over a computer screen isn’t as helpful as you might think.  Hopefully I’ll get some more detailed training over the next few days and start getting my feet wet!!  They tell me it’s more like three weeks of training…  oh well, I’ll get there!

Anyway, interesting day.  Had to get up earlier than usual, get William up early, drop him at school early, and deal with rush hour traffic.  I forgot what a JOY that can be!  Even with all that “early”, I was literally one minute late.  Gotta work on that.  And the ride home was even longer, thinking about alternate routes!  Not that I think any other way would be better or faster, everything is a mess in that area at rush hour, just wishful thinking I guess.

So, got home at 10 minutes to six, have to be at scouts at 6:30, and forgot to put anything on for dinner this morning, so we ate out, William and I.  HE really enjoyed it, but then he’s been wanting McD’s for a while and I keep saying “no”.  Can’t say I’m doing him any favors eating that junk, but we didn’t really have any choice tonight.  Gotta work on that tomorrow morning, too.  Planning a nice dinner, including some Quinoa, which I’ve never cooked before, going to see what it’s like.  Some kind of chicken in the crock pot, not sure what kind just yet, but I’m already thinking about it.

Sorry to say there are no recipes at all tonight, but I promise to do something cool tomorrow!  Trying to get back into that swing of working…  I’ll get it down!

So until tomorrow…  eat well, love well, live well!

Leave a Reply

