The Great 2012 Cooking Extravaganza! Day 114

April 24, 2012 at 7:44 pm (Food) (, , , , , , , , , )

Hello again friends, and welcome back!!  Today was a really good day, hope it was a Terrific Tuesday for you as well!

I think this new job is going to work out just fine.  I’m starting to learn stuff, sat in on my first actual training today, have another training scheduled tomorrow.  I’m starting to understand some of the things I’m seeing my trainer do on his computer, it’s starting to make sense.  I see how we fit in to the whole process.  And I’m working with a very cool group of people who are more than willing to answer questions and share information, so that’s good news after my last experience.

William had a good day at school, FCAT testing seems to be going well, and he’s settling in to spending after school time at a friend’s house.  I was a little worried about that, but they seem to be doing really well!

James is off to work, in MY car!  OMG!!!  We got the insurance straight, and he’s got to work until 1:30 in the morning, so I’M not going out to get him!  But that means that he’s grown up, and I’m not sure I’m ready…

Anyway, I think I’m getting the hang of getting everything ready in the morning, actually got dinner in the crock pot before I left, so we had a nice dinner waiting when we got home tonight.  Now I just need to finish cleaning up the kitchen so I have the crock pot for tomorrow!!  Here’s what we had:

Asian Chicken

3 large boneless skinless chicken breasts, frozen

1 can cream of chicken soup

1/4 cup soy sauce

1 Tsp ground ginger

1 quart water

4 Tbsp corn starch

Put everything except the corn starch in the crock pot, cook on LOW for 8-9 hours.  Remove chicken and shred.  Take 3 cups of the liquid, put it in a sauce pan, add in the corn starch and cook over medium high heat until thickened.  Add in the shredded chicken, and serve!

We had this with Quinoa cooked in the rice cooker, per package directions.  Two parts water to one part Quinoa, really simple.  It’s an interesting grain, kind of crackly in your mouth, but with a little salt and pepper, and the chicken in sauce over the top, it was pretty good.

We also had some leftover green beans with bacon, peas with butter, and grammy’s baked beans.  I know, not the ideal mix, but it was all good in it’s own way!  AND, I have a little bit leftover for lunch tomorrow.

And now I need to go clean out the crock pot, and maybe make some blueberry muffins (from a box mix, don’t get too excited there), so I’m off!  Until tomorrow, eat well, love well, live well!

Leave a Reply

