The Great 2012 Cooking Extravaganza! Day 121

May 1, 2012 at 8:08 pm (Food) (, , , , , , )

Hello again friends, and welcome back!  Hope you’re all having a Terrific Tuesday!

The new job just keeps getting better and better!  I’m still learning new stuff all the time, I expect that for the first few months, but I feel like I’m really making a difference, and helping out my team with some backlog.  Plus I have trainings almost every day this week, so I’m getting classroom training as well as on the job training, very cool!

William had a really good day at school, and a really good time after school.  I was a little worried about that after yesterday, but it all worked out.

James is off to work, I think he’s only off Friday and Saturday, which sort of works out since I don’t have a sitter for Friday!

Anyway, I forgot to put anything in the crock pot for dinner, I was more worried about filing my last unemployment claim, not sure it actually went through, gotta call tomorrow and see what I can find out.  But, I get my first paycheck tomorrow, so that’s a positive note.  It’ll all work out in the end I’m sure, just a little nervous about the finances at the moment.  It’s squeeky right now, if you know what I mean!

So, I had to come up with something that thaws quick and cooks just as quick…  fish fillets!  So here’s what we had:

Light Fried Fish

3 Tilapia fillets, thawed

1 cup flour

3 Tbsp Old Bay seasoning

Oil for frying

Mix the flour and Old Bay in a wide shallow bowl.  Rinse and pat dry the fillets.  Dredge each fillet in the flour mixture, and fry in oil over medium heat about 4-5 minutes per side, or until fish flakes easily with a fork.

I served this with leftover rice, heated in the microwave with some butter, and flash frozen peas and carrots mixed together and boiled on the stove.  It was actually quite a nice meal.

Not sure what’s on the menu for tomorrow night, but I’m sure it will have something to do with a crock pot and some chicken.  And meat loaf is on the menu for this weekend.

Until tomorrow, eat well, love well, live well!

Leave a Reply

