The Great 2012 Cooking Extravaganza! Day 122

May 3, 2012 at 7:16 pm (Food) (, , , , )

Hello again friends, and welcome back!  Hope you’re all having a Thrilling Thursday!  It’s almost the weekend after all.

Still going well at work, learning some cool stuff, getting in a little deeper every day, hoping I’ll have some properties of my own soon.  I know that’s what my boss wants!  I know we’re still cleaning up so we can close out April, but I know how stressed everyone else in the group is, so I want to do more!

William had a really good day at school, and an OK day after school with his friends.  Seems the boys had a little argument, but I think he’s OK now.  I just wish I could teach him how to stand up for himself without whining!  I know sometimes adults just shut kids down, but if he could learn to explain his side without sounding like he’s whining, he might actually get to tell his story and not feel like he’s the bad guy so many times!  I know how it feels when you’re in the right, but no one will listen…

James is off to work again, in my car, being very responsible with it, putting gas in it even though it’s really my turn, but since right now it’s I drive home, he grabs the keys and leaves, and doesn’t get home until the middle of the night, it’s kind of hard for me to actually put gas in the car right now!  This weekend, I think, I’ll be able to fill it up.

Speaking of this weekend, I’ve got a craft show on Saturday.  I was planning on using my new canopy that I got in January, but since it broke already (one of the telescoping legs is jammed), I thought I might have to back out.  BUT, the nice folks organizing the event have offered to let me use their canopy, so all I have to do is get my tables and my jewelry there, and I’ll be all set!  It’s from 10 to 3 on Saturday, can’t imagine if this fair skinned read head had to be outside all day without a canopy!  Mike and the boys are going to help me get everything over there, and now James has offered to stay and help me run the booth, so this could be a cool day!  Maybe Mike and William will even find something to do and stick around for a while, too, rather than driving all the way back home just to come back a couple hours later.  Guess we’ll figure that out…

Anyway, you’re not here for my life stories, so here’s what was on our table tonight:

Italian Tomato Chicken and Pasta

4 large boneless skinless chicken breasts

1 can petite diced tomatoes

1 quart water

1 packet Swanson flavor boost, chicken flavor

1 packet Good Seasons Italian dressing mix

Put everything in the crock pot, cook on LOW at least 8 hours, longer if you can.  Stir just a little every couple of hours if you can, just to make sure everything gets distributed evenly.

Remove chicken from pot, shred.  Strain out some of the tomatoes from the pot, put over the chicken.  Serve the chicken and tomatoes over pasta or rice, whichever you prefer.  Top with a little shredded mozzarella cheese, or parmesan if you have it.  Serve!!

The only thing I think I will do different next time is 2 cans of tomatoes, no water, and 2 packets of dressing mix.  It was just a little bland.  No bad, just not as strongly flavored as I would have liked.

Pretty easy meal, the pasta I used was leftover from last night, one benefit to making a whole package when I cook it, I have leftovers for the next day.  Not to mention we’re working on portion control around here, so what used to be one meal, sometimes now ends up being two, which is kind of cool.

So that’s it for today!  Until tomorrow, eat well, love well, live well!

Leave a Reply

