The Great 2012 Cooking Extravaganza! Day 128

May 9, 2012 at 6:31 pm (Food)

Hello again friends, and welcome back!  I’m starting to think I was maybe overly ambitious about this blog….

When I wasn’t working, it was easy enough to plan meals, cook during the day, spend an hour chopping up things to go in the pans, but now that I’m working and I don’t get home until about 5:30ish, and I’m getting tired of cooking in the crock pot every day, I’m finding it harder to get creative with my meals!  I think maybe I needed this week off so I could check out some new recipes, maybe some new ingredients to play with on my next shopping trip, maybe time for some new cook books!  I say week off, since I haven’t actually cooked since SUNDAY, and here it is Wednesday, and we’re getting take out.  Now that’s not to say we haven’t had home cooked meals most of the week, I just did most of the cooking on Sunday, and all I had to do was reheat stuff and add veggies or salads to make good meals.

My poor guys have been having a rough day today.  William can’t find his bike lock, called me in a panic this morning, and I couldn’t come back to help!  Luckily James hadn’t gone to bed yet (late night, long story), so he loaned William his old lock.  Then I talked to James, who apparently hurt his back at work loading/unloading boxes, and couldn’t stand up straight.  So I called Mike, let him know what was going on, he calls James and then comes home so he can take James to a doctor.  Well, since it happened at work, he’s got to go through the worker’s comp folks to get treatment, they spent a couple of hours waiting around for paperwork so they could go to the right place.  They are finally on their way home, picking up dinner on the way, and we’re going to veg out together for a while.  I think we need it!

I’m off work tomorrow, kind of a tradition around here, you get to take your birthday off.  I think Mike and I might go out to lunch, William has a field trip to MOSI, then we’re planning on going to an early afternoon showing of The Avengers.  Somewhere in there, I think I want to make a trip to the bead store, got another custom order to fill, need some supplies.  I think James can go to work tomorrow, just not sure he should be driving since he’s going to be on muscle relaxers and pain pills…  Hmmmm…

So, no new recipes tonight, no photos, sorry, but I think I needed this break.  Since I’m off tomorrow, maybe I’ll make something cool for dinner…

Until then, eat well, love well, live well!

1 Comment

  1. Mom :~) said,

    OMG! What a day! I sure hope James is all right, William did well with riding his bike to school, and Mike didn’t get too pissed off with all the waiting around. Ask me when you come over how my day went….I had to deal with Social Security today!

Leave a Reply

