The Great 2012 Cooking Extravaganza! Day 132

May 13, 2012 at 9:07 pm (Food) (, , , , )

Hello again friends, and welcome back!  Hope you all had an amazing weekend.  It was sure fun around here!!

Today was the end of a wonderful few days celebrating my birthday, and Mother’s Day.  We went to my mom’s today, I gave her earrings I made to match the bracelet her friend commissioned from me, so she’ll match next time she wears them!  And I got some birthday goodies!!  Two new tops for work, one black and white with a little bling, and one in a bright deep coral with frilly stuff, can’t wait to wear them this week!!  A new book to read, and the meatloaf pan I’ve been eyeing for a while now.  Oh, and chocolates!  Who doesn’t love chocolates!!

We went out to dinner, Sonny’s BBQ, had an amazing meal and great family time.  We swam before dinner, then the kids went back in when we got back, and of course we had cake.  Mom made one of my favorite cakes, a fruit basket cake, guess I could share that recipe with you tonight!  And then we all started talking about creative cakes, so I have some ideas to try over the next few weeks.  So here’s today’s recipe:

Fruit Basket Cake

1 white cake box mix

1 large tub whipped cream topping

Fruit of your choice, but might I suggest:

1 can diced pineapple

1-2 sliced bananas

1 can mandarin oranges

Make the white cake to package directions, round, square, that’s entirely up to you.  Cool completely!!

Now, you can slice the cake(s) into more layers, or you can just make two layers, or one rectangle cake.  Again, it’s entirely up to you!  We usually end up with a two layer cake, but I think next time I make one, I might try making four layers, just to say I tried it.  I’m going to give you directions for just a two layer cake here.

Place first layer on whatever plate you are going to use to serve the cake.  Frost this first layer on the top only with whipped cream, cover with pineapple bits, banana slices and mandarin oranges.  Top with second layer of cake.  Frost top and sides with whipped cream, be generous!  Top with remaining fruit, make designs if you want, or just make it random, it’s YOUR cake!  My cake this year had flowers made of fruit, mandarin oranges, peaches and cherries specifically, it was COOL!!  Refrigerate until ready to serve.

So, enjoy this cool creamy treat, and until tomorrow, eat well, love well, live well!!

Leave a Reply

