The Great 2012 Cooking Extravaganza! Day 136

May 17, 2012 at 7:26 pm (Food) (, , , , , , , , , , )

Hello again friends, and welcome back!  Hope you all are having a Thrilling Thursday!

Things are kind of quiet around here…  Mike stayed home sick.  William went to school.  James is at work, should be home soon.  Running low on cash and groceries, so it was sort of a free for all for dinner tonight.  William had ramen noodles.  Mike and I had a frozen bagged pasta meal with chicken, pasta, spinach and alfredo sauce.  It was OK, but kind of bland.

So now I’m trying to figure out how to get through until next Wednesday on what we have on hand…

I’m making a big pot of chicken flavored rice, have some black beans I can mix in with some of that, there’s lunch tomorrow, plus some leftover rice for another meal.

I have two more bags of frozen chicken, I can make two chicken dishes in the crock pot, there’s two nights down.

I have a big bag of frozen fish fillets, can get at least two meals out of that before everyone is tired of fish.  Since we’re not big fish eaters around here, that’s going to be a challenge!  I’m getting really tired of beer battered fried fish, but I really don’t like it cooked any other way!

I have a pound of frozen hamburger, I could either make burgers one night or spaghetti sauce.

I have one pound of frozen bacon, I think I have enough eggs to do bacon and eggs, or maybe pancakes and bacon…  hmmm, have to think about that one!

So that’s maybe six meals…  wonder what else we can come up with?

I have another frozen pasta meal, but it only serves 2, and that just barely.

I have probably another 5 pounds of uncooked rice left.

I have probably three pounds of various pastas I can cook.

And I have probably 8 bags of frozen veggies…  broccoli, cauliflower, peas, green beans, lime beans.

We have about 6 cans of various soups, so Mike can have his usual lunch every day! (LOL!)

I think I have everything to make some fresh bread, just need to get the bread maker down, and decide what kind(s) of bread I want to make.  I think I have some whole wheat flour left, I know I have plain flour, and I finally broke down and bought powdered milk since so many bread recipes call for it!

I have nuts, raisins, seasonings, crackers, corn meal (hey, maybe I’ll try polenta again, or grits!), Farina, oats…  I guess I have more than enough for the week!  I just need to plan ahead a little!!  And of course, I’ll need to do some cooking this weekend so we’re ready for the week, but that actually sounds like fun!

Well, the rice pot just finished, James just got home from work, and now that I have the start of a plan, I’m feeling better and just a little motivated, so I think I’m going to go for now.  Sorry there are no recipes tonight, but I should have lots to share over the weekend!

So until tomorrow, eat well, love well, live well!

Leave a Reply

