The Great 2012 Cooking Extravaganza! Day 139

May 20, 2012 at 7:16 pm (Food) (, , , , , , , , , , , , )

Hello again friends, and welcome back!  Hope your weekend was fun, and you’re getting to relax a little before the week starts all over again.

Busy, busy, busy around here today, but then every Sunday is!  Did the rest of the laundry, everything is now washed, dried, folded, hung-up or put away where it belongs, except James’ stuff since he hasn’t been here all weekend.  Actually cleaned the kitchen when I was done cooking tonight, so there is no new mess to deal with tomorrow, which is really good because tomorrow promises to be a very busy Monday.

So here’s what I cooked today:

Crispy Bacon (just because I could!  Plus, I crumbled a little to top off the potato soup I made yesterday, the rest is in a container for whoever wants some in the morning)

Half Whole Wheat Bread (in the bread machine)

6 ounces 80-90 degree water

2 Tsp honey

1 cup white flour

1 cup whole wheat flour

1 tsp salt

1 Tbsp packed brown sugar

1 Tbsp dry milk

1 Tbsp butter, quartered

1 pkg active dry yeast

Add liquid ingredients to bread machine pan.  Add dry ingredients except yeast to pan, tap to settle, make sure to get some into the pan corners.  Place butter in corners.  Make a small well in the center of the dry ingredients, add the yeast.  Program for WHOLE WHEAT, pick crust color you like, and hit start.  About 3 and a half hours later, you will have fresh home made bread.

Makes a 1 pound loaf.

Shredded BBQ Chicken

3 large boneless skinless chicken breasts

1 quart water

1/4 cup BBQ spice mix (I used KC Masterpiece seasoning mix this time)

1/2 cup ketchup

1 Tbsp molasses

1/2 cup brown sugar

Put chicken in crock pot.  Mix the rest of the ingredients in a pitcher until well blended, pour over chicken.  Cook on LOW 8-10 hours, or HIGH 4-5 hours.  Remove chicken from pot, shred.  Mix about 1/4 cup corn starch into juices in pot, cook another 30 minutes or until thickened.  Add back in shredded chicken and serve!

I served this over noodles tonight, mostly because I ran out of corn starch, so I couldn’t get my sauce to thicken enough!!  It still tasted good though…

We also had some veggies with this, and I thought about making cupcakes, but I don’t have powdered sugar for frosting, and I think I’m running out of steam…

So now it’s time to sit back, relax, oh wait, I still have to make sandwiches for William’s lunches!  Oh well, I’ll get to relax eventually…

Until tomorrow, eat well, love well, live well!

Leave a Reply

