The Great 2012 Cooking Extravaganza! Day 140 & 141

May 22, 2012 at 8:17 pm (Food) (, , , , , )

Hello again friends, and welcome back!  Hope your week is going really well!!

Well, Monday night was quite the night around here!  Picked up William after work, dropped him at the house where my mother was waiting for us, ran over to the girlfriend’s house to pick up James who is house sitting, ran back, got home just in time to get everybody in the cars and off to William’s big night at scouts.  Got there just in time to set up candles, get everyone started on eating the pizza one of our cool scout parents bought and all the cool desserts everyone else brought, while mom and I sat down and filled out all the awards cards for the boys and set up the balloons she bought for the one’s who were crossing over to Boy Scouts last night.  Lisa (den mom) and I made it through the little play we did for the boys crossing over without too many hiccups, which is quite the accomplishment for two ladies who don’t particularly care for public speaking!  All the boys got all their awards, quite a slew of pins, patches and belt loops went out last night!  Then I had to take James back over to house sit, mom went home, and Mike, William and I came back home.  Still had to clean up the kitchen and take care of my two remaining Facebook games, watch the new Eureka, and get William off to bed.  So I didn’t quite make it to my post here last night, but I really didn’t have any food related stuff to post anyway, so here I am tonight pushing two for one…

Tonight, I took advantage of all that cooking I did over the weekend.  William had some of the chicken spaghetti.  And I took some leftovers from a couple of different meals, plus some fresh veggies, and Mike and I had:

Fried Chicken Fried Rice

Take the meat from 3-4 pieces of fried chicken, remove the skin, chop it up into small pieces

Chop 8-10 baby carrots into small discs

1 cup broccoli florets

1 lightly beaten egg

2 cups leftover cooked rice

Soy sauce to taste

Heat a wok or large deep skillet over medium heat.  Scramble the egg, push to the side of the pan.  Heat the carrots about 5 minutes.  Add in the broccoli and about 1/4 cup water, cover with a lid and steam about 5 minutes.  Remove cover, add in chicken and rice, and a couple tablespoons soy sauce, stir constantly until everything is heated through and broccoli is bright green and crisp-tender.  Serve!!

This used up some leftover rice, leftover broccoli, leftover fried chicken from the scout banquet, and made a good meal, and room in my fridge!  (I actually put the broccoli in last when I made this tonight, and while I loved it, Mike didn’t, it was a little too raw for his taste, and that’s also why you don’t see it in this photo)

So until tomorrow, eat well, love well, live well!

 

Leave a Reply

