The Great 2012 Cooking Extravaganza! Day 148

May 29, 2012 at 7:53 pm (Food) (, , , , , , , , )

Hello again friends, and welcome back!  Hope your week is starting off well.  At least it’s a short week, right?!

Well, I logged in to find a nice little surprise…  I’ve been nominated for a blogger award!  It’s a badge (which I can’t figure out how to add to my blog here!), and a really nice way to acknowledge the blogs you love, so I figure what the heck!  So I’m supposed to nominate my five favorite blogs, and let them know, which I did.  Then I’m supposed to share them with my followers, so here goes:

http://thecraftynetwork.wordpress.com/

http://protogere.wordpress.com/

http://photobotos.com/

http://theforkleftbehind.wordpress.com/

http://lesleycarter.wordpress.com/

And I need to share a random thing about myself….  hmmm….  people always ask me where they can get my hair color, and I tell them you have to have my parents!  LOL

So here’s my badge:

I absolutely cannot figure out how to add this to my blog anywhere, I’m sure it’s ME, not this blog host, I can be a little technically challenged.

So I think I hit all the points…  I certainly hope so!  It’s kind of cool to be recognized for something I’m actually enjoying!

Now that’s over with, on to tonight’s actual post!  Tonight I experimented a little, and then threw in some traditional stuff, and ended up with something versatile that everyone could enjoy how they saw fit.  Here’s the recipe:

Asian Style Shredded Chicken

5 boneless skinless chicken breasts

1/4 cup soy sauce

1 Tsp ground ginger

1 Tbsp garlic powder

1 packet chicken Flavor Boost

1 quart water

Yep, you guessed it, headed for the crock pot again!  Place chicken breasts (frozen or thawed doesn’t really matter, but I usually start with frozen) in crock pot.  Mix remaining ingredients in a pitcher until well blended, pour over chicken.  Cook on LOW 8-10 hours.  Remove chicken from pot and sort of squish it with a fork, it should literally fall apart, not a whole lot of shredding actually needed.  Pour a few spoonfuls of the juices from the pot over the shredded chicken just to give it some extra flavor and a little moisture, and serve!

Mike and William put some on a tortilla with a little rice and cheese, and called it an Asian burrito.

I put mine in a bowl with some rice and some leftover green beans and peas, sprinkled on a little more soy sauce and a little freshly ground pepper over the top, and had a nice easy meal.

And because I cooked so much, there is plenty left for lunches and such tomorrow!

I have to tell you, it smelled wonderful when I first walked into the house this evening, like a Chinese restaurant without the grease!  This would make really good fried rice, or mixed with some fresh cabbage and some wonton or eggroll wrappers would make nice bite sized appetizers or egg rolls.  Hmmm…  might have to stop by the grocery on the way home tomorrow!  That actually sounds really good!

So, good day all around!  William had a good day at school.  James is off to work.  Mike is feeling more chipper than usual tonight.  And I had a pretty good day on the job, plus came home to a nice meal and an empty dishwasher.  Who could ask for more!

Until tomorrow friends, eat well, love well, live well!

2 Comments

  1. Mom :~) said,

    WTG Girly! Proud of you1 And love reading what you all had for dinner everyn ight.

  2. Julia said,

    Thanks for the nomination! Your blog is delish 🙂

Leave a Reply

