The Great 2012 Cooking Extravaganza! Day 149

May 30, 2012 at 6:59 pm (Food) (, , , , , , , )

Hello again friends, and welcome back!  Hope you’re all having a nice SHORT week!  It has certainly been an interesting one.  🙂

Work is still going really well, so well in fact I got a compliment from my boss today, and I really feel like I’m starting to fit in!  I’m still a little leery of trying to fit in socially, since I’ve had such lovely luck (yes, that is sarcasm you smell) in the past with co-workers, but as far as the work part goes, I’m doing really well.  It’s sort of cool that I can do most of my job with my iPod plugged in, since it’s a lot of computer centered work.  Glad I updated it over the weekend!  Even bought myself a new movie for it from iTunes, but I can’t exactly watch it while I’m working. Maybe at lunch though…  hmmm…

James is home tonight, and being nice to William! (wow, is the world going to end tonight or something?!)  They’ve actually been spending more time together, James seems to be developing a little more tolerance for his little brother, and William seems to be getting better at being less annoying to James, so it’s working out well!

William had a good day at school, except he still hasn’t been able to find his lunch box.  Somewhere between lunch on Friday and Tuesday morning when I went to pack lunch, it disappeared.  He doesn’t remember if he brought it home or not!  He was REALLY bummed at first, but since I told him we would get him a new one, he’s feeling a little better.  Not sure if I’ll be able to find one EXACTLY like it, but I’m going to try!  Maybe I’ll let him pick out the design so he doesn’t feel cheated…

Seems like Mike had a good day, too, but he’s plugged in over on the other couch checking out comic books, so I can’t really talk to him right now.  I don’t mind, though, since we’re all rediscovering our love of comics, and I’m glad he’s found something to get a little excited about.  Plus, this is something we can all do together!  He and William have been trading comics back and forth, reading all the ones they bought, so I guess they’re getting a little bonding time in, too.  Mike says maybe we should have been buying William comics all these years to get him to read!  Seems to me we did buy him one a long time ago, and he just wasn’t interested at the time.

Anyway, you don’t come here for the family updates, you’re here for the recipes, so here’s what was on the table tonight:

Sausage and Peppers

1 smoked sausage (like Eckrich or Gwaltney), the long rope style

1/2 green pepper

Cut sausage into rounds, then cut rounds into quarters.  Cut green pepper into roughly 1/2″ pieces.  Put all these little morsels into a large skillet and cook over medium heat until sausage is heated through and browned and peppers are translucent.

Serve over rice or noodles, or as I did tonight with some:

Great Value chicken flavor stuffing (made to package directions with water and butter, takes about 15 minutes including the time it takes to boil the water)

Fresh baby carrots

Fresh cut up cauliflower

Fresh grape tomatoes

Leftover cooked peas

Leftover cooked green beans

Those last two are because I have a couple of picky eaters who wouldn’t eat a fresh piece of cauliflower if it was the last piece of food on Earth!

So that was our relatively healthy meal tonight!  No desserts on tap, we’re out of cake, and I’m ready to just chill out a little tonight.  Maybe tomorrow night I’ll have the urge to bake something…

Until then, eat well, love well, live well!

1 Comment

  1. Mom :~) said,

    YUM!

Leave a Reply

