The Great 2012 Cooking Extravaganza! Day 153

June 4, 2012 at 8:00 pm (Food)

Hello again friends, and welcome back!  Hope your week is starting out well!

My week has already been interesting, new boss, winding up the last of the May stuff at work, getting settled in on the job.  Officially got my new title, I’m no longer an “assistant”, I’m a “coordinator”, which means what I have no idea, but that’s OK with me.  I know my way around most of what I have to deal with on a daily basis, but there are still folks around to help me with the odd stuff.  I think the new boss is going to work out alright for me, too.  I felt comfortable going to him with a problem already, didn’t feel like I had to avoid admitting a mistake, so I think that will work out in the end.  Although I was just starting to feel that same way about the old boss when she told us she was moving on to something else!  I certainly wish her well, and who knows, maybe she’ll talk to me about one of the openings on her new team…

This is William’s last week of school, last week as an elementary student, and he’s enjoying it.  They had board and card games all day today.  Tomorrow it’s quiz show day, his favorite is Minute-to-Win-It, he’s looking forward to that.  Wednesday is the fifth grade banquet.  No idea what’s in store for Thursday, but I know Friday is the Clap-Out, we’re all going.  The teachers, parents and other kids line the walkways of the school and literally applaud as the fifth graders file out for the last time.  I’ve heard it gets a little emotional, maybe I shouldn’t wear make-up that day!  I think Mike is going to take the boys out to lunch afterwards, and maybe make a trip to the comic store.  I got William a Game Stop gift card for the occasion, so I’m sure he’ll want to go there as well.  I can only take a long lunch, gotta go back to work after, but that’s OK, I get to be there, and that makes him happy!  He really wants James there, hope he gets up in time!!!

James is out and about tonight.  Not working, but some of his friends from high school are graduating tonight, so he went to wish them well.  His schedule is pretty packed this week, only off two nights, and not two in a row, which kind of sucks for his social life, but will be good for his wallet.

Mike is home, and tired, but sounds like he had a good day, too.  Still trying to come up with ideas for Father’s Day, if anyone has any…

So, tonight, I didn’t cook.  Sorry!!  We still had some leftover casserole from yesterday, so that’s what Mike and James had. William had a sandwich and chips.  I had a bagel and fruit.  And of course, we all had cake!  I guess Monday’s aren’t a good night for new recipes around here, it just doesn’t seem to work out.  And I gotta come up with something new for chicken in the crock pot.  I figured out how to keep it from getting so dry, but that would mean I have to start with thawed chicken, and I almost never have any thawed out, unless I just bought it.  It would also mean having to get up earlier so I could sear the chicken before putting it in the pot, and if any of you know me, you know THAT’s not going to happen!

Anyway, hope you have a great week, and I’ll be back tomorrow, hopefully with something new and exciting for dinner!

Until then, eat well, love well, live well!

Leave a Reply

