The Great 2012 Cooking Extravaganza! Day 154

June 5, 2012 at 7:20 pm (Food) (, , , , , , )

Hello again friends, and welcome back!  Hope your having a Terrific Tuesday!

Kind of a quiet day today…  James is off to work.  William is winding down his elementary career with a whole week full of fun activities.  Mike is getting a therapy group together, so he’s really in his element now, and he just found out he’s getting his one year anniversary raise in his next paycheck, so that is just beyond cool!  Now if I can just get hired into my job full time instead of as a temp, we’ll be in really good shape for a change!

Work was good, still rounding up May stuff, closing out things, making sure accounting stuff is all done.  But I’m definitely getting the hang of things, fitting in well, building a routine, which was the one thing I could never do in my old career, there was no such thing as routine!  So this is a really nice change of pace for me.

Anyway, on to the recipe of the day.  This morning, I put a bunch of things that sounded good together in the crock pot, and crossed my fingers.  And it turned out really well!  Here’s what we had:

Cheesy Chicken

4 large boneless skinless chicken breasts, frozen

1 quart water

1 chicken Flavor Boost packet

1 can cream of chicken soup

1 can broccoli cheese soup

Put a liner in your crock pot.  Put the chicken in the pot.  Mix the water, flavor boost and soups in a pitcher until fairly well blended, pour over chicken.  Cook on LOW 8-10 hours.  Remove chicken from pot to serving dish.  You can shred it if you want, or serve whole.

I took some of the juices from the pot and put it over some leftover rice, then microwaved for about 4 minutes, made nice soft rice with a little extra flavor.  Went well with the chicken, too.

We also had some broccoli and peas with butter to round out the meal.  And, I had some leftovers which made nice neat little dishes by layering rice, chicken, peas and a little shredded cheese, so Mike and I have lunch for tomorrow, too!

So now I’m off to play on Facebook for a while, then if I have time, I’m going to play with some beads!

Until tomorrow, eat well, love well, live well!

Leave a Reply

