The Great 2012 Cooking Extravaganza! Day 164, 165, 166

June 17, 2012 at 7:30 pm (Food)

Oh wow, I am WAY behind!  And I hate to say it, but I really don’t have much cooking to share!  I have been SO lazy this weekend!!!

Friday night, we went out, ended up going to Hardee’s of all places, but that’s OK, it’s what the boys wanted.  We made a trip to the comic shop so Mike could get his Father’s Day present, a small shopping trip at the comic store.  William got his allowance on Friday, too, so of course he spent it all at the comic store, too.  But that’s OK, it’s something they are doing together, and it’s not a video game.  I’m glad they are finding something they can do together!

Yesterday, it was laundry day, and grocery shopping day, and getting William’s and my glasses adjusted day, so we all sort of grabbed whatever we could throughout the day.  Then, last night was movie night, which usually means munchie type foods, but I wasn’t up for making a bunch of munchies, so we settled on frozen burritos and nachos.  Can’t believe it, but we didn’t even make popcorn for movie night, but I did have some Twizzlers!

So, today, being Father’s Day, I wanted to make the day special, so we started off our day with a nice family breakfast.  James is even here for a change, which is a NICE change!  We don’t get to see much of him since he got the job at Wendy’s, and he usually spends the weekend with his girlfriend, but he thought we might be heading over to my parent’s for Father’s Day, so he stayed home!  So, no recipes, but I can tell you what we’ve had today…

Breakfast

Crispy bacon (center cut Gwaltney)

Bisquick pancakes with Great Value sugar free syrup (with Splenda)

Scrambled Eggs with Cheese

We didn’t really have “lunch”, everyone just sort of grabbed whatever they wanted, since breakfast wasn’t until about 11AM, so no one really wanted an actual lunch.

Dinner

Eye round steaks on the grill, with choice of Heinz 57 sauce or A1 sauce

Fresh salad Welch style (everything in separate bowls so everyone could pick just the ingredients they want in theirs)

Baked potatoes (guess I could give you that recipe again???)

Perfect Baked Potato 

Number of potatoes you want to cook (tonight I did 7, because that’s what I had left, and they wouldn’t last much longer if I didn’t cook them!)

Olive oil (vegetable oil also works, if you don’t have olive oil)

Kosher salt

Wash the potatoes well, and remove any eyes.  Dry them!!  Rub the potatoes with olive oil, pierce once on each side (total four sets of fork holes) then sprinkle liberally with Kosher salt.

Place in baking pan.  Bake at 350 degrees for 1 hour.  Turn once about half way through to ensure even cooking and no hard spots in the skin.

When done (you can tell by poking with a fork, when it’s easy to poke it’s done) serve!  Cut it open, top it with your favorite combination of toppings, or keep it simple with butter and salt.

Dessert

I found a moist cake mix made with Splenda instead of sugar, and frosting with Splenda, too, so we’re having yellow cupcakes with chocolate frosting!  They just came out of the oven, should be ready to frost in about half an hour or so.  Looking forward to trying them!!  I’ve been thinking about baking with Splenda, but I’ve been too cheap to buy the granulated stuff in addition to the sugar I keep around.  This was a cheap way to try it out.  I’ll have to let you know how it goes!

So, not sure what’s on the menu this week, but I’m sure it won’t be dull.  Something with chicken tomorrow night, I think…

Until then, eat well, love well, live well!!

Leave a Reply

