The Great 2012 Cooking Extravaganza! Day 168 & 169

June 20, 2012 at 9:28 pm (Food) (, , , , , , )

Hello again friends, and welcome back!  I know, I know, missed yet another day.  But I cooked tonight, so maybe that will make up for ordering pizza last night.

So, Wednesday…  pay day for me, at least until the company hires me in permanent.  Had a really good day at work, feeling very confident in what I’m doing now, only ask the occasional question, got a pretty good handle on things now.  Hopefully that means I have a good shot at getting hired in as permanent!

Mike had a quiet day at work, seems things are slowing down for him now that summer is here.  Hopefully he doesn’t get too bored.

James spent the day with the girlfriend, got home just a little while ago, seems like he had a nice day.

William had his first day at home completely by himself.  He spent the morning watching TV and reading, then he biked over to his friend’s house for the afternoon, which was good exercise, and he got to spend time in a familiar setting with friends.  I picked him up on my way home, and got to visit for a few minutes with a friend, too!

As I said earlier, we ordered pizza last night, and I have to say, if you have a Jet’s Pizza in your area, get the big square pizza, deep dish, it’s good!!

Tonight, I had thawed chicken, frozen veggies, and a few odds and ends to work with, so here’s what we had:

French Onion Rice

Rice of choice

Water

Dry French onion soup mix

Rice cooker is required!

Fill rice cooker with water to the “4” mark.  Add in 2 packets of French onion dry soup mix.  Add in 4 scoops (you know, the scoop that came with the rice cooker?) rice of your choice, I happen to still have about half of the 25 pound box of parboiled white rice so that’s what I used.  Set to cook and let it do it’s thing!  When it’s done, serve!

Creamy Pesto Chicken

4 large boneless skinless chicken breasts

1 tub Philadelphia Creamy Pesto cooking cream

Trim excess skin and fat from the chicken breasts, cut into small bite sized pieces.  Add to a large skillet and cook until no longer pink.  Add in cooking cream, stir well, and cook about 4-5 minutes or just until sauce is thoroughly creamy and chicken is well coated.  Serve!

We also had some steamed broccoli, peas and spinach with this meal.  And we had some leftovers, so Mike and I have lunch for tomorrow, too!

Well, that’s it for tonight.  Until tomorrow, eat well, love well, live well!

Leave a Reply

