The Great 2012 Cooking Extravaganza! Day 174

June 26, 2012 at 7:39 pm (Food) (, , , )

Yeah, I know, I’m posting this a day late, but I’ve two posts to write, so I think you might forgive me…

Hello again, and welcome back!!  Busy Monday, but a good day for the most part.  

The weather is a little weird, rainy, windy, tornadoes in the general neighborhood, flooded roads the closer you get to the bay, but where we are, it’s just wind and rain.  Parts of the neighborhood have a lot of standing water right now, there are a few houses I feel really sorry for, and our ponds are really full for the first time in a few years, but that last part is a good thing!  Say hello to Tropical Storm Debby!

Anyway, I went to work, Mike went to work a little late, seems his office escaped water damage, but some of the others in the building didn’t fare so well.  But the building management is working on drying out the carpet and sprayed for mold, so I’m sure they’ll be fine.  Where I work, we had a minor flood in the parking lot, and tons of moss fell off the trees, but other than that, we really didn’t have any issues.

So, on to our menu for the night.  I cheated a little, we had frozen burritos and taquitos, but then I made quesadillas to go with those, so here’s my own personal recipe:

Quesadilla

1 pound ground beef

2/3 cup water

1/4 cup taco seasoning

1 pkg flour tortillas, soft taco size

1 pkg shredded Mexican style cheese

Brown and drain ground beef, breaking it up so you’ve got really loose burger meat, sort of like you would use for spaghetti sauce.  Think taco meat!  Put the cooked meat back in your skillet, add in water and seasonings, cook and stir about 5 minutes or until thickened.  

Heat a second skillet over medium heat, spray with butter flavor cooking spray.  Add one tortilla, sprinkle with about 1/4 cup cheese and about 3-4 tbsp seasoned meat.  Allow to set for about a minute, or until the cheese just starts to melt.  Fold over into a half circle, cook until browned, flip and brown the second side.  Remove from pan to serving plate, repeat until out of meat mixture.  I got six done before I ran out of meat.  I let everyone get their own and cut it however they wanted, I cut mine in wedges.

Don’t they look yummy!!  They really were the highlight of the meal.  Next time, I’ll do this on the weekend so I can make the burritos and taquitos from scratch, too.

Anyway, that’s it for Monday night!  Until tomorrow, eat well, love well, live well!

Leave a Reply

