The Great 2012 Cooking Extravaganza! Day 175

June 26, 2012 at 8:07 pm (Food) (, , , , , )

OK, so now I’m back to the right day of the week!  Happy Tuesday!!  Welcome back friends!!

So, Tropical Storm Debby has just about blown herself out, at least here.  No more rain today, but it’s still really cloudy, and really windy.  Some roads are still closed, but mostly just the Skyway Bridge, and due to winds, not flooding.  Still quite a bit of standing water around, but we SO needed a good rain!  Just wish it hadn’t been all at once!  I heard this morning that my folks were really getting pounded, but I haven’t talked to them yet to see how bad it was.  Just tried to call, hope they’re just doing something or went somewhere, they didn’t answer…

Mike came home early from work, mostly because he could, but also because he’s got to “work” a baseball game after hours later in the week, and he has to use the time this week, and also because there’s a wind advisory on one of the bridges he has to drive across!

I had a good day at work, got a lot done, and broke through a little bit of a wall I felt was there with one of my co-workers.

So, I was looking forward to making dinner tonight, planning on a little experiment, and it came out really well!  I took the little bit I learned using packaged sauce products and a couple of recipes I read, and combined them into something that was actually pretty yummy.  So here we go:

Coconut Curry Chicken (my way)

4 boneless skinless chicken breasts

1/2 pkg golden curry seasoning, medium hot (found it at Walmart, it’s literally a brick of seasoning, but it’s easy to cut up)

1 small container plain Greek yogurt

1 can unsweetened coconut milk

1/2 cup diced carrots

1/2 cup each any other crunchy veggies you like in your curry, like green peppers, fresh peas, fresh green beans

Remove any excess skin or fat from the chicken, and cut into small bite sized pieces.  Sautee in a large skillet over medium heat.  Add in veggies and cook about 2 minutes.  Add in coconut milk and simmer 8-10 minutes or until veggies are crisp tender.  Add in the Greek yogurt and seasoning, cook stirring constantly until seasoning is completely dissolved and sauce has thickened, about 5-7 minutes total.  Serve over rice or noodles.  I serve it over chicken flavored Jasmine rice, and I think it turned out really well.  It really wasn’t spicy at all, but it had really good flavor.  And, I have leftovers for both Mike and I for lunch tomorrow!  YEAH!

 

Here’s the chicken, carrots and the curry sauce all nice and cooked.

This is my rice cooker that I rave about!  I love this little thing!  It was actually Mike’s before we got married, but if it ever dies, we have GOT to get another one.  It’s SOOO handy!

Doesn’t that look good?!

Anyway, that’s it for tonight.  Until tomorrow, eat well, love well, live well!

Leave a Reply

