The Great 2012 Cooking Extravaganza! Day 180 & 181

July 2, 2012 at 8:15 pm (Food) (, , , , , , , )

Hello again friends, and welcome back!  I guess I’m stuck in an every-other-day kind of rut now.

Happy Monday!  Hope you all had a good beginning to the week.  Going to be a short week for many of us, but the holiday is in the middle of the week, so it’s sort of weird.

Had a doctor’s appointment today, also sort of weird.  Sat there for over an hour before I got to see the PA, I usually see her not the doctor and I’m OK with that part, but I hate the waiting!  And it’s SO cold in that office, I always feel like a popsicle when I leave.  Had more bloodwork while I was there, too, joy.

End of the month at work, cleaning up all the leftovers from June, actually got a lot done!  Felt good to be so productive!

Mike had a quiet day, most of his clients didn’t show, so he did a lot of catch up stuff, too.

I kept the boys busy today, got them to cut the grass, edge, sweep up the mess, scoop the cat box and unload the dishwasher.  James is now at work, got called in, likes the extra hours.  William is packing…  lucky little bugger is going to Disney with his friend and his mother for two days!  He doesn’t leave until Wednesday, but he’s already running around picking up things he might need and putting them in a bag.  Think he’s a little excited???  I was just a little evil when I told him…  I said, I have bad news, no drive-in, no sleep-over Tuesday night, no cookout Wednesday.  His face fell, you would have thought he lost a pet!  Then I told him WHY, and that he was going to Disney, if he was a cartoon he would have been bouncing off the walls and his eyes would have popped out of his head!

So, anyway, on to the cooking.  Can’t say I’ve done anything overly complicated, but I’ll give you what I got!

Sunday night, we had spaghetti with marinara sauce and meatballs, and bread sticks.  Pasta from a box, sauce from a jar, frozen meatballs, and bread sticks from Pilsbury!  Absolutely nothing from scratch, not that I couldn’t, I just didn’t.

Tonight, we had home made popcorn chicken, baked potatoes, and leftover home made egg rolls.  Guess I could share a couple of those recipes with you…

Egg Rolls (vegetarian this time)

Egg roll wrappers

1 small head of cabbage

1 small bag of baby carrots

2 Tbsp soy sauce

1 Tsp ground ginger

Remove the stem from the cabbage, and chop it into small chunks.  Put the chunks into an electric chopper or food processor, chop until very fine.  Repeat as needed until whole head is shredded.  Repeat with carrots.  Mix cabbage, carrots, soy sauce and ginger in a mixing bowl until well blended.

Put a wrapper on a plate in diamond shape, spoon about 2 Tbsp filling across center, fold up bottom corner and snug in filling, fold in two side corners tucking in tightly, dampen final point with water, and roll filled center over moistened tip, sealing well.  Repeat with all wrappers and filling until you run out of something.  I ran out of wrappers before I ran out of filling, but that’s OK!

Heat some vegetable oil in a skillet, about 1/2″ deep, over medium heat.  Fry each egg roll about 2-3 minutes per side, or until golden brown.  Remove to paper towel lined platter, serve warm with your favorite dipping sauce!

Popcorn Chicken

3 large boneless skinless chicken breasts

About 1 cup flour

About 1/2 cup Everglades seasoning

Trim any excess skin or fat from the chicken, cut into bite sized pieces.

Mix flour and seasoning in a plastic container large enough that you can add in the chopped chicken, cover, and shake well to coat all pieces!

Heat vegetable oil about 1/2″ deep in a large skillet over medium heat.  Add in chicken pieces, not too many at a time, and not too close.  Cook about 2-3 minutes per side, turning at least once, or cook until chicken is cooked through and light golden brown.  Serve with dipping sauce of your choice, or just plain!

I think I’ve shared the perfect baked potato recipe a few too many times, so I’m not going there this time around.  But you know they’re good if you’ve tried making them!

So that’s it for tonight!  Until tomorrow, eat well, love well, live well!

Leave a Reply

