The Great 2012 Cooking Extravaganza! Day 186

July 7, 2012 at 10:35 pm (Food) (, , , , , , , , , , , , , , )

Hello again friends, and welcome back!!  Hope you’re all having a nice weekend.  I know mine started out well!

It’s been a really busy day for me.  Started off by running out and getting McD’s for breakfast.  Then, dropping off a take-home test at the local medical lab.  Unfortunately, there is only one office of our lab that’s open on Saturdays, so I had to drive out to BFE (Valrico) at 10 AM.  Then I went and got my toes done, LOVE sitting in that massage chair!!  When that was done, I slipped next door to the hair salon and got all my hair chopped off!!  Been debating about doing it for a year, finally decided it was time.  Turns out, though, my hair isn’t as curly as it used to be, so it doesn’t look like the photo, but it should be REALLY easy to deal with in the mornings!  And it’s already a lot cooler.  I’ll have to get one of the guys to take a photo so I can post it and show off…  after I’ve had a chance to play with it a little!  It was too funny though, the stylist asked me if I wanted to color my hair to cover the white ones, I told her no way, I earned every one!!

Then it was off to Walmart, two page grocery list, we were out of almost everything, which is why I had to run out to get breakfast this morning.  Had a major sugar crash, had to shuffle my way to McD’s to eat some lunch, guess I shouldn’t have waited so long between meals, or pushed so hard!  After sitting for about 20 minutes and eating something, I finished up my trip.  Mike and William both needed new shorts.  Meats, veggies, pasta, shampoo, make-up, new toothbrush since mine literally fell apart last week, dairy, vitamins, new grass seed spreader since our old one fell apart last month, etc… it was quite the list!  Plus I had about $15 worth of coupons, not my best total ever, but not my worst either!  I about had a heart attack when I saw the total bill, but at least we had the money, so it won’t be an issue!  And, I won’t have to shop like that again for quite a while.

Anyway, seems the boys read comics all day, started the laundry, not sure what else they did.  They were stuck here without a vehicle, so I guess there wasn’t a whole lot they could do!

So, on to the food.  I was a busy girl after I finally got home…  three hours at Walmart wore me out, but I had a Coke and a snack, and I was back!  Here we go!!

Southwest Egg Rolls

1 pkg egg roll wrappers

1 pound ground beef

2/3 cup water

1/4 cup taco seasoning

1 green pepper, finely chopped

3 green onions, finely chopped

1 can black beans, drained and rinsed

1/2 tsp ground cumin

1/2 tsp chili powder

1 Tbsp taco seasoning

1/2 cup shredded cheese

Small dish of water for dipping (I’ll explain in a minute)

Brown ground beef, drain excess grease, return to pan.  Add in 2/3 cup water and 1/4 cup taco seasoning, mix well, simmer until thickened.  Allow to cool about 10 minutes.

Mix meat, peppers, onions, beans, spices in a large bowl.  You can sautee the peppers and onions if you choose, I prefer them a little crunchy.

Spoon about 2 Tbsp of this mixture onto an egg roll wrapper on the diagonal.  Fold over the bottom corner and tuck in the filling.  Fold in the two side corners. Lightly dampen the top tip with water, and roll the filled roll over this corner, sealing with the water.  Repeat until you run out of wrappers and or filling.  Somehow, I managed to get exactly enough of each, and had no leftovers!

Heat about 1/2″ of vegetable oil in a wide skillet over medium heat.  Fry the rolls, about 5 or 6 at a time, in the hot oil until golden brown, turning once.  I think they cooked about 2-3 minutes per side at the beginning, and more like 1 1/2 – 2 minutes towards the end.

Remove from oil to paper towel lined tray.  Serve with ranch dipping sauce, salsa, guacamole, whatever YOU like with your Mexican food!

Asian Egg Rolls

2 boneless skinless chicken breasts

1 pkg egg roll wrappers

1/2 head cabbage, shredded really fine

10-12 baby carrots, shredded really fine

About 2 Tbsp soy sauce

1/2 Tsp ground ginger

Remove excess skin and fat from chicken, chop into very small pieces, cook until nicely browned in a skillet, no added fat or oil.

Allow to cool a little, while you mix the cabbage, carrots, ginger and soy sauce together in a large bowl.  Add in warm chicken, mix well.  Spoon about 2 Tbsp of this mixture onto an egg roll wrapper on the diagonal.  Fold over the bottom corner and tuck in the filling.  Fold in the two side corners. Lightly dampen the top tip with water, and roll the filled roll over this corner, sealing with the water.  Repeat until you run out of wrappers and or filling.  I had about 1/2 cup of filling left over this time.

Heat about 1/2″ of vegetable oil in a wide skillet over medium heat.  Fry the rolls, about 5 or 6 at a time, in the hot oil until golden brown, turning once.  I think they cooked about 2-3 minutes per side at the beginning, and more like 1 1/2 – 2 minutes towards the end.

Remove from oil to paper towel lined tray. Serve with soy sauce, sweet and sour sauce, duck sauce (my personal favorite), or whatever sauce you like with your Chinese food!

Taco Bites

1/2 pkg wonton wrappers

About 1 cup prepared taco beef (I actually made a little extra when making the beef for the above Southwest Egg Rolls, worked out well!)

Lay out a few wonton wrappers, spoon about 1/2 tsp filling onto each one, dampen two sides, fold over into a triangle and seal with your finger tips.  Repeat until you run out of filling and wrappers.

Fry in vegetable oil over medium heat about 1 minute per side, or until golden brown and crispy.  Remove from oil to paper towel lined tray to drain.  Serve!

Not a bad meal if I do say so myself!  And lots of leftovers for tomorrow.  YEAH!

And I have some nice fresh fruit for dessert, cantaloupe, honey dew and pineapple, YUM!

So, until tomorrow, eat well, love well, live well!

Leave a Reply

