The Great 2012 Cooking Extravaganza! Day 204-207

July 28, 2012 at 6:47 pm (Food) (, , , , , , , )

Oh, I have been SO slacking off this week!  I am so sorry!!!

And I’m sorry to tell you I really don’t have anything for you today, either!  I just wanted to say HI to everyone and share what’s going on in our little corner of the world.

So, let’s play catch-up…

Wednesday, first day as an actual employee where I work, last full pay check from the temp folks.  Also got my PTO time actually in the system, so I put in for a day off for when Mike has to go get his colonoscopy (oh what fun).  Still have time in my bank, figure I’ll leave it there, maybe plan a long weekend some time.  I think Mike has time banked, too, so maybe we can plan a couple days off together now!

Since I got paid, and it was a LONG day at work (lots of changes, scrambling to figure out what I’m doing, sharing info with folks who took over some of my stuff, getting things from other folks where I took some of their stuff, just craziness!) I sprang for burgers and fries from Five Guys.  I am SOOO glad we don’t eat their very often, it’s entirely too expensive for burgers and fries, but I have to admit, it was really good this time.  Last time, it was sort of blah, but this time, it was good!  I think maybe we have to be away from it for a while before it tastes really good!

Thursday, still a little crazy at work, playing catch up, figuring things out, helping other people figure their new stuff out, getting back into my routine.  By the end of the day, I was re-organized and ready to go.  Got some follow-ups done, worked on some reports, felt like I had actually made some progress.  Of course, I have a nemesis at work, this one girl who just doesn’t like me for whatever reason, is always treating me like I smell bad or something, huffs at me, snubs me, the whole nine yards…  and of course, we traded some properties in this whole re-org, so we had to speak to each other.  I try so hard to be nice, tried to give her some print outs, lists that have helped me, share info, she didn’t want anything to do with it because it wasn’t the way she would do it, her words “oh nevermind, I’ll just get it myself!”  I wanted to slap her SO bad, but I was good!!!  I filed away what I had, figure sooner or later I’ll need it for something.

James got called in to work, so I was without a vehicle, and still tired after work, Mike was working late, so William and I ordered pizza from Jets.  And once again, I will say, if you have a Jets pizza around, try them!!!  I’m not a huge fan of thick crust pizzas, but theirs is awesome!!!  And their bacon cheese bread sticks, yummy!!!

Friday, well, things calmed down a little at work.  Getting a feel for my new vendors, learning their issues, their strengths and weaknesses.  Talked to a bunch of new folks on the phone, they all seemed really nice and eager to work, so that’s a bonus.  Felt like I accomplished a lot, cleaned up some messes, felt good!  Plus, we had the monthly birthday and work anniversary celebration, so there were goodies, always a plus!

Mike and I made chicken nachos, guess I could share that one with you…  it’s really simple, but very tasty!

Chicken Nachos

3 boneless skinless chicken breasts

1/4 cup taco seasoning

1/4 cup dried onion flakes

2 Tbsp garlic powder

Shredded cheese

Salsa

Water

Fill a large pot with water, add in the taco seasoning, garlic powder and onion, add in the chicken.  Heat over medium heat for about 45 minutes, or until chicken is cooked through.  Remove chicken and shred or cut into small pieces.

Put your favorite tortilla chips on a plate, spread out a little, top with some of the chicken, top with your favorite shredded cheese.  Microwave for 1 and 1/2 minutes, or until cheese is well melted.  Top with your favorite salsa, sour cream, or whatever YOU like on your nachos!

And here we are, it’s Saturday.  Time to catch up on chores that get ignored all week now that I’m working, time to relax a little between loads of laundry, time to hang with the family…

So of course, Mike was up and out before I even got out of bed, he had a CT scan this morning, part of his annual follow-up with Moffitt. So far, all the blood work and such is coming back good, so he’s feeling a little more comfortable with the whole “survivor” idea, and the fact that he IS one!

I got William up around 9, we had breakfast together, then I went and got my toes done.  Got back just a few minutes before Mike did, and we all had lunch together, or at least in the same room.  Went grocery shopping, ran into Candy and David, that was cool.  William has been bugging her today asking if he can go over, or Noah can come over here.  She finally invited him over for the night, they are having home made pizza, I’m sort of jealous!  Mike and I then went back to Walmart, filled water jugs, picked up William’s prescription, got salad makings for dinner.  We are both sort of in the mood for a light meal, so here’s what we’re having:

Grilled Chicken Salad

Fresh salad greens of your choice (I got both an iceburg blend and a field green mix)

Grilled chicken (yes, we got premade)

Crispy bacon pieces

Ranch dressing, or your favorite

Shredded cheese

Put it all together and you’ve got an easy fresh dinner!

So, that’s really it for now.  Maybe I’ll cook up something interesting tomorrow, thinking meatloaf..

Until then, eat well, love well, live well!

Leave a Reply

