The Great 2012 Cooking Extravaganza! Day 211 – 212

August 2, 2012 at 8:16 pm (Food) (, , , , , , )

Hello again friends, and welcome back!  Hope you are all having a wonderful week.  It’s certainly been an interesting one for me!

Work has been completely crazy, I’m behind, and that just feels weird!  First time since I started there that I actually feel BUSY.  And I think it’s going around, they just authorized overtime so everyone can get caught up, so it’s not just me!

James got a few extra hours at work this week, hopefully that means things will pick up and he’ll get back to four or five days a week again.  I know he was doing really well for a while there, then things sort of fell off, but then he had a nice chat with his boss, so hopefully things will get back to busy for him!

William it seems slept most of the day, but then he barely slept last night, so I guess I understand…  but I’m worried about that trend!  If he keeps on this way, he’ll sleep all day and be up all night and I’ll never know what the heck he’s doing!!  That could be trouble…

Mike is still in Orlando, he’ll be home tomorrow night.  I’m ready!  Looking forward to dinner with my sweetie and a trip to the comic store, our every-other-Friday night out with William.  Of course, the comic shop we like is having an anniversary party Saturday, so we might have to put off our usual Friday stuff until Saturday so we can go!  We’ll see…

So, on to the food!  Wednesday night was a no cooking kind of night, we ordered pizza, it was just William and I, I figured what the heck. The bread sticks were off, but the pizza was good.  Still debating telling them about those bread sticks. First time we’ve ever had anything that wasn’t good from Jets Pizza!  I think it was a fluke, but then again, if I tell them, I might get something free…  Hmmmm…

Tonight, on the other hand, I cooked, and dinner was really easy but really good!  I’m going to recommend a new product to you, new to me anyway…  Dreamfields pasta is amazing!  Low carb, but tastes good, nice texture, has a slightly buttery taste without adding any butter.  I was very impressed!  AND, Walmart is carrying it now, HUGE bonus!  Don’t have to shop at a different store just for this one product.

Here’s the recipe of the night:

Chicken Broccoli Alfredo

3 boneless skinless chicken breasts

1 package frozen broccoli florets

1 box Dreamfields angel hair pasta

1 jar Great Value Alfredo sauce

Olive oil cooking spray

Salt and pepper

Trim any excess fat or skin from chicken, cut into small bite sized pieces.  Put into a large skillet, spray with cooking spray, season with salt and pepper, toss, heat over medium heat until cooked through.  Add in the Alfredo sauce, stir well, simmer over LOW while you cook the pasta and broccoli.

Cook the pasta to package directions, I think it says boil 5 minutes, we actually cooked it about 7 and it was perfect, but that counts the returning to a boil time, not just the boiling time.

And I steamed the broccoli in the microwave, seven minutes from frozen to done in a cover glass dish.

Once it’s all hot and ready, put about 1 cup of pasta in a bowl, top with about 1/4 of the broccoli and about 1/4 of the chicken and sauce, mix well, chop it up if that’s how you like it (I do!), and serve!  It’s really tasty and you get your carbs, veggies and protein all in one dish.  PLUS, if you’re like us, you have left overs for the next day’s lunch as well.

That’s it!  Simple, tasty, a hit!

So, until tomorrow, eat well, love well, live well!!

1 Comment

  1. Love ya sweetie, Mom aka Grammy :~) said,

    I’m so glad you finally tried Dreamfield’s pasta. We love it and it so much better for you.

Leave a Reply

