The Great 2012 Cooking Extravaganza! Day 218 – 219

August 9, 2012 at 9:36 pm (Food) (, , , , , , , , , , , , )

Hello again friends, and welcome back!

I know, I know, behind again.  What can I say, I’ve been watching the Olympics and doing some crafts, so I’ve sort of let this slide.  Good news is, I actually cooked the past two nights, so I have something for you, if now new then at least tasty!

Work is beyond busy, but I’m getting there!  Getting things done, hitting my stride, feeling like I might actually know what I’m doing, FINALLY!

Mike is rocking his job, and coming home more excited than I’ve seen him in a long time, and I’m so glad!!

James is getting a few more hours, and we’re making plans to get his car in the next couple of weeks.

And poor little William is bored to tears at home by himself, but he’s being stubborn about spending time with his friends, so I can’t help him right now.  I do need to get all his pants hemmed for school, guess I know what I’m doing this weekend!

So here are a couple of recipes for you, hope you enjoy them!

Quiche 

Great Value deep dish pie shells, package of 2, thawed, poke them up the sides and around the bottom so they don’t puff up when you bake them, baked for 10 minutes at 425 degrees

10 eggs

2 cups milk, divided in half (I actually mixed 1 1/2 cups milk and 1/2 cup half-n-half this time)

10 slices bacon, cut into small pieces, cooked until crisp, drained on paper towels

6 slices Swiss cheese

1/2 cup shredded cheddar cheese

Salt and pepper

1/2 cup frozen spinach, cooked in the microwave about 2 minutes

Mix the eggs, milk, salt and pepper in a large mixing bowl, set aside.

After the pie shells have cooled a bit, spread the Swiss cheese in the bottom of one, fanned out around the inside and slightly up the sides, so it will give you cheese in every slice.  Top with the partially cooked spinach, then half the cooked bacon.

In the second, spread the cheddar cheese, top with the remaining bacon.

Pour roughly half the egg mixture into each pie crust, and bake 10 minutes at 425 degrees, then reduce heat to 350 degrees and bake 35-40 minutes more.

Serve!!

Pork Chops with Apples and Peas

5 boneless pork chops

2 Tbsp soy sauce

1 Tsp ground ginger

1 cup frozen peas

1 Granny Smith apple, diced

Cook apples and peas in a large skillet over medium heat until apples are soft and peas are heated through.  Remove from pan and set aside. Put pork chops into a skillet , pour over soy sauce, sprinkle over ginger.  Cook until pork chops are browned and cooked through, turning as needed to avoid over browning.  Add back peas and apples and reheat through.

Serve!

So that’s it for tonight.  Until tomorrow, eat well, love well, live well!

 

Leave a Reply

