The Great 2012 Cooking Extravaganza! Day 222

August 12, 2012 at 6:47 pm (Food) (, , , , , , , )

Hello again friends, and welcome back!  Happy Sunday!!!

So, the end of a busy weekend, laundry done, kitchen cleaned, pulled some jewelry from my stuff for sale to add to my personal collection, maybe wearing some every day will get someone’s attention and I’ll start selling some again!  Finished all my little craft projects from last week, have them packed to go to my desk at work.  Cleaned off my computer table, cleaned off my dresser, moved my jewelry stock in from the garage.  Put away the cook books that have been just taking up space on my desk.  Got William trying on school clothes so I can figure out hems on the pants.  Still have to organize his school supplies, but that shouldn’t take long, and he gets to do most of the work!!

So not a lot of excitement around here, but got a lot off my list, and I’m OK with the fact that I didn’t get to it all.  I know I can do the rest through the week and it will be OK, I didn’t miss anything critical.  I also know I can get the boys to do some of it if I ask nicely…

Anyway, on to the meal of the day.  As you may or may not know, I’m not a fan of fish in any form, I just really don’t like the taste of fish, never have, so I’m always looking for new ways to disguise it.  Tonight was not a huge success, but it wasn’t a huge failure either.  Here we go…

Parmesan Crusted Tilapia

Frozen Tilapia fillets, one per person

Fresh lemon juice (I used one lemon for three fillets)

Salt and pepper

Parmesan cheese, grated or shredded

Thaw the fillets per package directions.  Spray baking sheet with olive oil cooking spray.  Place fillets on prepared pan.  Squeeze lemon juice over fillets.  Sprinkle salt and pepper to your taste.  Top with Parmesan, enough to literally cover the fillets.  Bake at 350 degrees about 30 minutes or until fish is flaky and done through.

I served this with:

Parmesan and Butter Orzo

Orzo pasta

2 Tbsp Butter

1/4 cup Grated Parmesan

Prepare Orzo pasta per package directions, boils literally 9 minutes and it’s perfect!  Drain, put back in warm pan.  Add in butter, stir to melt.  Add in Parmesan, stir until it’s all blended well.  Serve warm!

Along with these we had steamed broccoli with butter, and steamed peas with butter.  I know, a lot of butter tonight, but it made for a nice family dinner.  The fish was still a little fishy, but if you ate it with broccoli, the broccoli overpowered the fish, so I was happy!  William doesn’t like fish or broccoli, so he had a little harder time than the rest of us, but he did OK.  He really liked the pasta!!

So that’s it for tonight!  Hope you enjoy one of these recipes!  Super easy!

Until tomorrow, eat well, love well, live well!

1 Comment

  1. Mom A.K.A. Grammy said,

    A woman’s work is never done!

Leave a Reply

