The Great 2012 Cooking Extravaganza! Day 236

August 26, 2012 at 8:13 pm (Food) (, , , , , , )

Hello again, and welcome back friends!  Happy Sunday!!!

So, MOM’s here!  YEAH!  I like when my momma comes to visit, it’s cool!  Have to say, though, I didn’t quite make it through all the cleaning I had planned, but she understands.  She’s going to be working at the RNC this week, and we’re a whole lot cheaper than a hotel, plus we’re relatively close to where she needs to be.

William has a little bit of a sore throat, so I guess it’s a good thing that school has been cancelled tomorrow due to the impending tropical storm, Isaac.  He’ll get to rest and relax a little, maybe feel better by the time he gets to go back, hopefully Tuesday.  Can’t believe it, but he actually got disappointed that he won’t be going to school tomorrow!  I’m so glad he likes his new school that much.

I’m off to the doctor tomorrow afternoon, unless we get hit really hard by Isaac, kind of hoping we do, don’t really want to go, can’t afford it!  I don’t mind this doctor at all, she listens to me, and talks with me not at me, but I just can’t afford it!  Should have planned that a little better…  Still getting used to getting paid every OTHER week again.

Anyway, on to the food!  Had a really good sit down family dinner tonight.  The ultimate in comfort food, MEATLOAF!  Here’s the recipe:

Meatloaf with Sausage

2 pounds ground chuck

1 package of 5 sausages, Great Value brand, mild Italian flavor (1 pound)

2 cups uncooked oats (I prefer traditional oats, some folks prefer quick oats)

1 cup tomato sauce (or spaghetti sauce)

2 eggs

1/2 cup dried onion flakes

salt and pepper to taste

One Perfect Meatloaf Pan!!

Squeeze or cut the sausage meat out of the casings.

Mix all your ingredients by hand in a large bowl, squish it all around really good, make sure there aren’t any obvious chunks of sausage anywhere, it should be relatively smooth when you’re done.  Form this mixture into a rough loaf shape, and put it in the Perfect Meatloaf Pan.  Bake at 350 degrees for at least 1 hour 15 minutes.  It should be pulled away from the sides of the pan, and crispy on top.

I actually had more than I needed for this pan, so I made mini-meatloaves in a muffin pan, too!  Got a whole dozen out of this batch, so we have leftovers!  YEAH!

We had fresh made real mashed potatoes, steamed broccoli and peas along with the meatloaf, so it was my ultimate Sunday dinner.  YUM!

So that’s it for now.  Maybe more tomorrow, but don’t be surprised if you don’t see me again until next weekend!  Not going to pressure myself anymore!

So until then, eat well, love well, live well!

 

Leave a Reply

