February 3, 2013

February 3, 2013 at 10:00 pm (Food) (, , , , , , )

Hello again friends, and welcome back!  Wow, I’ve been a bad girl, been away for a while.  Sorry!!!  Hope you didn’t miss me too much…

So, let’s see, what’s been going on around here?  Well, William and I went on a field trip this past week to the Dali Museum and the Titanic Exhibit at the Mahaffey theater in downtown Tampa.  I decided it was high time I went on a field trip with one of my kids, since I missed them ALL with James, I guess William got the pleasure of having mom along.  I don’t know that he really even noticed I was there most of the time, he was hanging out with his friends, and I was busy chasing the other kids in my group.  I did get a few photos of the trip there, but we weren’t allowed to take photos inside either museum, and we didn’t get to go to the gift shop, so I have nothing really cool to show you!  But I can tell you it was a cool trip, and I think we should go back as a family instead of with a big group, we can spend more time looking around.

I got my hair colored last week, got some blonde highlights and some purple highlights, which actually turned out more lilac than purple, and here we are ONE WEEK LATER, you have to really look to find them.  I’m a little disappointed.  Think I’m going to go more like a garnet red next time, see how that turns out.

And we qualified for a mortgage, went looking at houses last weekend, found one we LOVED, so we made an offer.  After a little haggling and what seemed like forever (four days), we came to an agreement.  Inspection is this Wednesday, we’re supposed to close 3/15.  And lo and behold, we got a letter from an attorney, the house we’ve been renting for the past 6+ years has been foreclosed upon, the former owner has until 3/11 to pay up, or it goes to public auction 3/14.  Sounds like we’re getting out just in time!  Even trying to move the closing up a week or two if we can, so we can be out before all hell breaks loose around here.  I’m just crossing my fingers we get our original deposit back…  that money would REALLY come in handy to get stuff for the new place!

So, anyway, it’s been a busy few weeks around here.  Haven’t done much ORIGINAL cooking lately, but I do have two things to share with you this time.

BBQ Pockets

1 pound ground beef

1 Cup BBQ sauce of your choice

1 can jumbo biscuits

Brown and drain ground beef, return to pan.  Reduce heat, add BBQ sauce, and simmer for about 10 minutes, while you prepare the biscuits.

Roll the biscuits as flat as you can, mine came out pretty big, but not so thin you can’t handle them.

Place the rolled out biscuits on a cookie sheet, ungreased, place about 2 tbsp BBQ mixture on each flattened biscuit, fold over, press to close.  You can also go around the flat edge with the tines of a fork if you want, but the design sort of gets lost when the biscuits bake.  I had to do 2 at a time because they were SO big rolled out, two of them took up half the cookie sheet!

Bake at 350 degrees for 16-18 minutes, or until deep golden brown.  Serve warm!

Taco Pockets

1 pound ground beef

2/3 Cup water

1/4 Cup taco seasoning

1 can jumbo biscuits

Brown and drain ground beef, return to pan.  Reduce heat, add water ans seasoning, and simmer for about 10 minutes, while you prepare the biscuits.

Roll the biscuits as flat as you can, mine came out pretty big, but not so thin you can’t handle them.

Place the rolled out biscuits on a cookie sheet, ungreased, place about 2 tbsp taco mixture on each flattened biscuit, fold over, press to close.  You can also go around the flat edge with the tines of a fork if you want, but the design sort of gets lost when the biscuits bake.  I added a little shredded cheese on the outside of mine, but I think next time I’ll try cheese INSIDE.  I had to do 2 at a time because they were SO big rolled out, two of them took up half the cookie sheet!

Bake at 350 degrees for 16-18 minutes, or until deep golden brown.  Serve warm!

P1060208

Taco on the left, BBQ on the right.

I also served ranch dressing with these, it was GOOD!

And then tonight, we had something different…

Teriyaki Pork with Rice

4 boneless skinless pork chops, thick cut

1/2 cup teriyaki sauce (Kikkoman’s is good)

2 cups prepared leftover rice

1 cup frozen peas

Trim fat from chops, cut into cubes, saute over medium heat until no longer pink.  Add in sauce and peas, stir well, cook until peas are bright green, maybe 5 minutes.  Reduce heat, add in leftover rice, cover and simmer about 10 minutes.

P1060222

It was GOOD!!

So, that’s it for now.  Hope you try one of these, let me know how they come out for you!

Eat well, love well, live well!!

Leave a Reply

